Search by topic for your desired business type. This resource is part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL). The library also has a few older print volumes (1995 & 1998) in this series; search the library's catalog if you need these.
From the site: This index lists types of small businesses and a corresponding sample business plan, profile or book about the business with sources provided after each entry. Entries that refer to actual sample plans are in bold print. If the plan or profile is online, a link is provided.
SCORE, a nonprofit organization and SBA partner, is dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals through education and mentorship.
Search the Resource Library for templates and other resources, watch a video, take a course, or connect with a local SCORE chapter for support.
Supplied by the Missouri Dept. of Transportation. There are regional maps as well as a statewide map with additional maps for large municipalities around the state. Historical data is also provided.
If you're looking outside Missouri, check with that state's transportation department to see if they offer similar resources.
Entrepreneurship Databases (also see the list of Business & Economics databases)
CapitalIQ (formerly Standard & Poor's) NetAdvantage includes data and analysis of industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, indexes, and current news. NetAdvantage contains the following S&P publications: Bond Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Industry Surveys, and Stock Reports.
data.census.gov provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic data gathered by the United States Census Bureau. It provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data is drawn from several censuses and surveys. Older City & County Data Books (2007 and earlier)
Designed for use with the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act and the Community Reinvestment Act, with this site you can enter a street address and retrieve information for the census tract in which the site is located. Median family income, population, number of housing units, and ethnicity for the tract are examples of data available. Note: Due to differing update schedules, this data may not be identical to data retrieved directly from the census.gov site.
Mergent Archives is an online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.
Key Business Ratios (the D&B Industry Norms and key Business Ratios) -- archives, dating back to 1979 up to two years ago
Million Dollar Directory (D&B) -- archives, dating from 1959, but not all years available (up through *part* of 2011)
Hoovers (varying issues)
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
Hoover's Handbook of World Business
Hoover's MasterList of U.S. Companies
Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
Public Utility Manual-1914-Present.
OTC Industrial Manual-1970-Present.
OTC Unlisted Manual-1986-Present.
Bank and Finance Manual-1928-Present.
The Municipal and Government manuals are currently not available at UMSL online, but are available on microfiche through 2007 at UMSL TJ MICRO LEVEL 5 HG4931 .M58.
For more current information, see the Mergent Intellect and Mergent Online databases.
Features a collection of worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Intellect includes the following types of data:
North American Database
Over 20 million US and 1.5 million Canadian private companies
Over 6000 US public companies
Complete family tree details
Over 70 million global private companies
Global corporate family tree details
Key Business Ratios (also see the Mergent Archive database for older editions)
Industry Database with access to over 900 industry segments via First Research
Job Search Solution Database
Over 20 million employers in the US and 400,000 employers in Canada
Veterans Job Search Database
Residential / Local Business Database with over 200 million residents and 30 million businesses
Executive Database with over 90 million executives details including contact and biographies
Enables users to find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes. Mergent Online also offers helpful Industry Analysis reports (Industry Analysis --> Search by Industry).
UMSL's subscription to Mergent Online includes the following products:
US Active and Inactive Data
International Active and Inactive Data
Expanded Long Term Debt
US and International Earnings Estimates
Executive Biographies Basic and Plus
Institutional and Insider Holdings
D&B Private Company Data
As Reported All Years, Standardized All Years, Transparency All Years
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The Department of Labor has a listing of SIC codes.
Social Explorer is a comprehensive data research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Social Explorer provides easy access to current and historical demographic data:
The entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release; it is updated continuously with new data from the decennial census and American Community Survey as it is released from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Includes over 40 billion data elements, 200,000 variables and more than 18,000 interactive maps from 1790 to 2010. Download data for processing offline using any statistical package; the reports automatically calculate aggregates, percentages, and medians. Export, save, and print maps and reports.
InfoGroup data on religious congregations for the United States for 2009, including maps for counties, and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations (to be updated yearly).
The Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000. (To be updated in 2012.)
Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
Creates thematic and interactive maps that make it easy to visually explore all historical and modern US census data across the centuries and down to street level detail where available. Maps can be seamlessly converted into reports.
Creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place (where the data exist).
The Information Technology department currently pays for UMSL's subscription to Social Explorer
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Formerly published by the U.S. government, it is now a commercially produced database. A print edition is also available at the Thomas Jefferson Public Service Desk.