LibGuides: Legal Cases &amp; Resources: Home

Legal Resources

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic offers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels. The database covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The package also includes the U.S. Congressional Serial Set and features more than 100 million pages of content across more than 100 subject areas.
FastCase, a separate database, is more technical, but offers a few additional materials (such as statutes) if you cannot find what you need in HeinOnline.
FastCase Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FastCase is a legal research tool for in-depth study. Users can access it as a separate module within HeinOnline Academic.

ABA Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Part of HeinOnline, this journal from the American Bar Association offers background and analysis of cases scheduled to go before the Court.

CaseLaw Access Project This link opens in a new window
The goal of the Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) is to expand public access to U.S. law and "to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law School Library."
This collection may be useful in conjunction with our main legal database: HeinOnline Academic

National Law Review
Published since 1888, the National Law Review offers coverage of legal, tax, and related governmental issues. [Note: This is a free resource and access to content may change without notice.]
National Survey Of State Laws
This resource uses charts to view basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws on a variety of topics.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline is a collection of databases covering law, federal & state legislation, criminology, history, and other topics.

HeinOnline offers general and advanced full text searching. This is the easiest way to search.
For more detailed legal research, use FastCase to search federal and state level case law.
If you know the name of a legal journal you would like to access, use the Catalog tab at the top to find available publications. All the Hein online journals also show up in the Library's Electronic Journal Portal ("Journals by Title" on the main page).
You can also search by citation if you have one.
The National Survey of State Laws is in HeinOnline (8th edition forward) in addition to a print copy in the library.

For example, to find information on the case Minneci versus Pollard, you would enter the following as a Full Text search:

Minneci v. Pollard

More Information on Using HeinOnline Resources

Their Help menu is accessed via a link in the upper right of your screen.

Choose "LibGuides" from the HienOnline menu get a list of guides describing their individual databases and tools.
The Knowledgebase offers keyword searching of their Help resources and more detailed searching information.
HeinOnline also offers a chat service if you're stuck. Click on the tab located on the right side of your screen.

If you use HeinOnline frequently, you can set up a MyHein account so you can bookmark articles, save search queries, set up alerts to let you know when new material is added, and more. However, a MyHein account is NOT required.

Legal Cases & Resources

We're here to help!

Legal Resources

HeinOnline

More Information on Using HeinOnline Resources