LibGuides: Remote Library Services: Home

When you need to work remotely, there are many ways UMSL Libraries can provide you with expert help and services.

Be sure to check the Libraries’ website for the latest closure announcements and the hours we are available to provide online help and services.

Remote Services

Chat - Ask a Librarian
Click the green “Chat” button from any library page to chat with a librarian about your research.
Research Consultation - Ask a Librarian
Schedule a one-on-one Research Consultation with a librarian; appointments can be either remote (via Zoom) or in-person.
Subject Guides
Learn how to do research in a particular discipline or for a specific course in one of our librarian-developed research guides.

Discover@UMSL
Discover@UMSL is an easy-to-use, fast library search engine that helps you discover information from scholarly journals, books, and other items in the collections of the UMSL Libraries. Search results link to online articles and books as well as the print holdings of the library.

A-Z Databases - UMSL Library
You can search or browse by subject and type of database available from the UMSL Libraries.
Using eBooks
The UMSL Libraries have purchased and subscribed to a number of eBooks for faculty, staff, and students. These eBooks are restricted to UMSL users.
IRL@UMSL
The Institutional Repository Library (IRL) brings together UMSL research and historical documents under one umbrella, with an aim to preserve and provide access to these materials.
UMSL Digital Library
Repository for the various digital collections of the UMSL Libraries, which includes circulating and reference works held by the Thomas Jefferson Library; records from the University Archives and other campus departments; and archival materials from the collections of the St. Louis Mercantile Library, the oldest library west of the Mississippi River.
more...less...
The Mercantile Library itself is home to the St. Louis Mercantile Library Art Museum, as well as two large special collections libraries: the Herman T. Pott National Inland Waterways Library and the John W. Barriger III National Railroad Library.
Online Access Help
Help with the UMSL Proxy, VPN (virtual private network), or Remote Desktop.

Returning Materials?

Physical books and media borrowed through MOBIUS, Prospector, or Interlibrary Loan may be returned to any UM System library or book return.

Interlibrary Loan
We can deliver scans of book chapters and journal articles from the UMSL Libraries collection and from other libraries. This service is available to current UMSL students, faculty, and staff only. Remote users:...
more...less...
Remote users: Please choose in your “User Information” the status of Distance Ed. If you include a due date and your request is not found before that date, we will not continue to attempt to fulfill your request.

UMSL Keep Learning
This resource from the UMSL Center for Teaching Learning helps explore what it means to be a remote learner, and provides a number of resources.
Triton Pantry: UMSL Food Resource
The Triton Pantry is a food resource for all enrolled students that are experiencing or are at risk of food insecurity or hunger.
more...less...
Follow on Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/tritonpantry/ for any updates on the Triton Pantry.