LibGuides: Principles of Marketing: MKTG 3700

Corporations & Industries - Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides full text for thousands of journals, including both peer-reviewed, academic journals and trade business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. To find case studies, enter search terms (examples: "restaurant" or "advertising") in the usual boxes, then under "Document type," choose "Case Study."
Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Includes data and analysis for industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and indexes. NetAdvantage contains the following Standard & Poor's publications: Bond Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Industry Surveys, and Stock Reports.
Some people have reported difficulties accessing from off-campus. Things to try if you have problems:
- Use the campus VPN (click the "V" icon for details)
- Access Capital IQ NetAdvantage in your browser's Incognito or Private mode
- Clear your cookies and cache
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
Contains disclosure documents with financial and other information filed by companies & investment funds as required by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Intellect includes the following types of data:
- North American Database
- Global Database
- Key Business Ratios (also see the Mergent Archive database for older editions)
- Industry Database with access to over 900 industry segments via First Research
- Job Search Solution Database
- Residential / Local Business Database with over 200 million residents and 30 million businesses
- Executive Database with over 90 million executives details including contact and biographies
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes. Mergent Online also offers Industry Analysis reports (Industry Analysis --> Search by Industry).
UMSL's subscription to Mergent Online includes the following products:
- US Active and Inactive Data
- International Active and Inactive Data
- Expanded Long Term Debt
- US and International Earnings Estimates
- Executive Biographies Basic and Plus
- Institutional and Insider Holdings
- D&B Private Company Data
- As Reported All Years, Standardized All Years, Transparency All Years
- US Equity and International Equity Pricing
- Unadjusted Pricing
- SEC Filings, SEDAR Filings
- North American and International Annual Reports
- Industry Reports (NA), (AP), (EU), (LA)
- News
- Competitors
- Equity Reports, Equity Reports Integrated Search
- Mergent Reports, Report Builder, Custom Report, Report Wizard, Comparison Report
- Risk Analysis, Net Basis
- Bond Search
- Ratio All Years, Restated All Years
- Factsheets Plus, International and Express
- Equity Portraits
- Bond Portraits (D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Database, D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree)
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) This link opens in a new window
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The Department of Labor has a listing of SIC codes.

Nonprofit - Internet Resources

GuideStar
GuideStar gathers, organizes, and distributes information about U.S nonprofits.
Charity Navigator
Charity Navigator is the largest and most-utilized charity evaluator in America. The organization helps guide intelligent giving by evaluating the Financial Health, Accountability and Transparency of over 9,000 charities and provides basic data on the rest of the 1.8 million U.S. nonprofits. Charity Navigator accepts no advertising or donations from the organizations it evaluates, ensuring unbiased evaluations, nor does it charge the public for this trusted data. As a result, Charity Navigator, a non-profit 501 (c) (3) public charity itself, depends on support from individuals, corporations and foundations that believe it provides a much-needed service to America's charitable givers.
The Chronicle of Philanthropy
The Chronicle of Philanthropy covers jobs, statistics and other news related to the topic and is considered a key publication for nonprofit leaders, fund-raisers and grant makers. The website also includes tools and guides related to running and researching nonprofits.
National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
The Urban Institute focuses on research in nonprofit organizations, among other areas, and oversees the NCCS.

Corporations & Industries - Internet Resources

ResponsibiiltyReports.com
Reports on social and environmental performance
Census Bureau Economic Statistics
Economic Census, Indicators, and other data & statistical measures
Deloitte's Industry Resources
Deloitte's own industry insights and outlooks.
Thomas
Suppliers, marketing ideas, trends and other insights
Export Solutions on Trade.gov
Developed by international trade experts and economists, trade.gov provides trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools to help U.S. companies expand in global markets.

Principles of Marketing

Business & Related Guides

Librarian

Ask Us!

Corporations & Industries - Databases

Nonprofit - Internet Resources

Corporations & Industries - Internet Resources