It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business - General Resources
A broad list of resources for UMSL's Business programs.
The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer.
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. Accounting is an integral part of any business's day-to-day operations, and accurate financial information is critical for decision making in the business world and government alike. With engaging, comprehensive entries written by experts in the field, this volume in an invaluable resource for readers seeking a clear introduction to accounting principles and applications. This volume includes 100 accessible entries that provide readers with a solid understanding of the topic, including: Quantitative Analysis for Business Accounting Systems for Managerial Systems Income Tax Accounting Cash Flow Accounts Receivable and Inventories Statistical Applications in Accounting Ethics in Accounting Accounting Fraud (or Creative Accounting) Principles of Business: Accounting covers essential topics that will be of interest to anyone who wants to know more about what is involved in running a business, keeping accounts, or for those who are considering starting a business of their own.
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. Entrepreneurship is a career path that more and more students and job seekers are considering. Like Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, and Mark Zuckerburg, anyone with a great idea can change the world. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship fills the need for helpful information on the founding principles of entrepreneurship-how to start a business, how to pitch your product, how to raise capital, how to market your product and so much more. This is information anyone looking to start a business needs to know. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the fundamentals of what is involved in starting a business. Over 100 easy-to-understand entries outline the basics of: Innovation Leadership Investment Valuation Launching New Ventures through Technology Leadership & Motivation Lean Manufacturing Logistics Management Managing the Process of Innovation Marketing Strategy Mergers & Acquisitions Negotiations Networking New Ventures & the Law New Product Management Patents Pricing Strategies Principles of Advertising Product Life Cycle Risk Analysis Scenario Planning Social Entrepreneurship Team Management Technological Innovation An understanding of the essentials of entrepreneurship is important for anyone who is considering creating a new product, delivering a new type of service, those who want to start their own business, or even those who have just started developing their new idea.
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. The study of business touches virtually all aspects of modern society. Students and researchers who have a solid understanding of the fundamentals of business have an increased advantage when applying for a job, furthering their education, or looking to start a business on their own. Principles of Business: Finance offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the broad field of finance. Entries include detailed coverage of: Business Forecasting Business in Emerging Markets Cash Flow Debt Valuation Exchange Rate Financial Derivatives Globalization Issues in International Banking Principles of Risk Management Real Estate Bubble Stock Markets Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2010 Urban Fiscal Policy Venture Capital and much more . This new resource is a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of finance and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field. A must for all high school and undergraduate science programs.
In the quickly evolving world of business, borders are expanding, and markets are growing. Advances in transportation and communication have changed the economic system worldwide. Principles of Business: Globalization provides new and intriguing essays about the global marketplace, information that is critical for anyone interested in further accessing their industry. This volume includes 100 easy-to-understand entries across a range of global topics, including: -Outsourcing Enabling -Trade Index -World Trade Organization -The Kyoto Protocol -Corporate Capitalism -The Battle of Seattle For those looking to understand the worldwide economy, this title provides both theory and history in a comprehensive and engaging manner. Students and business professionals alike will find great use in this text.
Provides readers with the tools to recognize effective, and ineffective, leadership, and build their skill set to develop solid leadership skills of their own. This volume gives valuable insights into teambuilding, time management, delegation, and the ever-elusive innovation. Leadership is both a fascinating concept and a continual challenge to those whose job it is to be a leader, and it is absolutely vital to the world we live in today and relevant in any type of business. This work includes such topics as "Business, Ethics & Society," "Charismatic Authority," "Conflict Management," and "Managerial Leadership." All entries are arranged in an A to Z order, making it easy to find the topic of interest. Each entry includes an Abstract that provides a brief, concrete introduction to the topic and how the entry is organized, a Presentation of the Topic, including a discussion of applications and issues, a Bibliography of works discussed in the article, and a helpful list of Further Reading. The Principles of Business series offers students and researchers an easy-to-understand introduction to the major principles of various aspects of business. These new resources will be a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their studies of business and need a solid foundation of the key terms and elements in the field. A must-have for all high school and undergraduate business and economics programs. For those looking to elevate their work performance or learn more about effective leadership, this title supplies entries with advice and real-world experiences from business leaders. This is an essential title in the Principles of Business series for those with serious ambitions.
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. Principles of Business: Management provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the most important aspects of management, from leadership and operations to project management and entrepreneurship. An understanding of the fundamentals of management will serve job-seekers in all industries, alongside those who want to start their own business. Principles of Business: Management offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the diverse field of business management. Entries include detailed coverage of: Business, Ethics & Society Competitive Strategy Copyrights Crisis Management Current Issues in Entrepreneurship Decision Making Under Uncertainty Disruptive Innovation Diversity in the Workplace Employee Selection Labor Legislation & Unions Negotiations Productivity Startup Incubation Teams & Team building . This new resource is a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of finance and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field. A must for all high school and undergraduate science programs.