Over 1,100 Business Plans. Search by your desired business type. Collections of actual business plans with type of business; statement of purpose; executive summary; business/industry description; market; product and production; management/personnel; and financial specifics.
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. Entrepreneurship is a career path that more and more students and job seekers are considering. Like Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, and Mark Zuckerburg, anyone with a great idea can change the world. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship fills the need for helpful information on the founding principles of entrepreneurship-how to start a business, how to pitch your product, how to raise capital, how to market your product and so much more. This is information anyone looking to start a business needs to know. Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship provides students and researchers with a solid understanding of the fundamentals of what is involved in starting a business. Over 100 easy-to-understand entries outline the basics of: Innovation Leadership Investment Valuation Launching New Ventures through Technology Leadership & Motivation Lean Manufacturing Logistics Management Managing the Process of Innovation Marketing Strategy Mergers & Acquisitions Negotiations Networking New Ventures & the Law New Product Management Patents Pricing Strategies Principles of Advertising Product Life Cycle Risk Analysis Scenario Planning Social Entrepreneurship Team Management Technological Innovation An understanding of the essentials of entrepreneurship is important for anyone who is considering creating a new product, delivering a new type of service, those who want to start their own business, or even those who have just started developing their new idea.
Technology Entrepreneurship: Taking Innovation to the Marketplace, Third Edition provides a practical toolkit for potential entrepreneurs with technology backgrounds that will help them navigate complex issues such as raising capital, IP protection, product development, and more. The book's structure follows the entrepreneurial process in a step-by-step way, defining key terms and helping readers without business qualifications engage with the activities addressed. In addition, it covers a discussion of current trends and developments relevant for tomorrow's entrepreneurs. In-depth information on the practicalities of technology entrepreneurship are combined with experience from academics to provide a unique resource on how to approach this crucial subject.
The Missouri Procurement Technical Assistance Centers (MO PTAC) assists businesses — including small, disadvantaged, veteran and women owned firms — obtain federal, state and local government contracts.
SCORE, a nonprofit organization and SBA partner, is dedicated to helping small businesses get off the ground, grow and achieve their goals through education and mentorship.
Search the Resource Library for templates and other resources, watch a video, take a course, or connect with a local SCORE chapter for support.
Supplied by the Missouri Dept. of Transportation. There are regional maps as well as a statewide map with additional maps for large municipalities around the state. Historical data is also provided.
If you're looking outside Missouri, check with that state's transportation department to see if they offer similar resources.
Entrepreneurship Databases (also see the list of Business & Economics databases)
Includes data and analysis for industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and indexes. NetAdvantage contains the following Standard & Poor's publications: Bond Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Industry Surveys, and Stock Reports.
Some people have reported difficulties accessing from off-campus. Things to try if you have problems:
Use the campus VPN (click the "V" icon for details)
Access Capital IQ NetAdvantage in your browser's Incognito or Private mode
data.census.gov provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic data gathered by the United States Census Bureau. It provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data is drawn from several censuses and surveys. Older City & County Data Books (2007 and earlier)
Designed for use with the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act and the Community Reinvestment Act, with this site you can enter a street address and retrieve information for the census tract in which the site is located. Median family income, population, number of housing units, and ethnicity for the tract are examples of data available. Note: Due to differing update schedules, this data may not be identical to data retrieved directly from the census.gov site.
Mergent Archives contains a vast, indexed collection of historical corporate and industry related documents.
Content includes:
Key Business Ratios (the D&B Industry Norms and key Business Ratios) -- archives, dating back to 1979 up to two years ago
Million Dollar Directory (D&B) -- archives, dating from 1959, but not all years available (up through *part* of 2011)
Hoovers (varying issues)
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
Hoover's Handbook of World Business
Hoover's MasterList of U.S. Companies
Hoover's Handbook of American Business
Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
Industrial Manual-1920-Present.
Public Utility Manual-1914-Present.
OTC Industrial Manual-1970-Present.
OTC Unlisted Manual-1986-Present.
Transportation Manual-1909-Present.
International Manual-1981-Present.
Bank and Finance Manual-1928-Present.
The Municipal and Government manuals are currently not available at UMSL online, but are available on microfiche through 2007 at UMSL TJ MICRO LEVEL 5 HG4931 .M58.
For more current information, see the Mergent Intellect and Mergent Online databases.
Worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Intellect includes the following types of data:
North American Database
Over 20 million US and 1.5 million Canadian private companies
Over 6000 US public companies
Complete family tree details
Global Database
Over 70 million global private companies
Global corporate family tree details
Key Business Ratios (also see the Mergent Archive database for older editions)
Industry Database with access to over 900 industry segments via First Research
Job Search Solution Database
Over 20 million employers in the US and 400,000 employers in Canada
Veterans Job Search Database
Residential / Local Business Database with over 200 million residents and 30 million businesses
Executive Database with over 90 million executives details including contact and biographies
Find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes. Mergent Online also offers Industry Analysis reports (Industry Analysis --> Search by Industry).
UMSL's subscription to Mergent Online includes the following products:
US Active and Inactive Data
International Active and Inactive Data
Expanded Long Term Debt
US and International Earnings Estimates
Executive Biographies Basic and Plus
Institutional and Insider Holdings
D&B Private Company Data
As Reported All Years, Standardized All Years, Transparency All Years
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The Department of Labor has a listing of SIC codes.
Business Plans Handbook
Principles of Business: Entrepreneurship by 
Technology Entrepreneurship (Third Edition) by 
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window