Drawing on his own experience with mentors such as John Updike, John Gardner, and James Baldwin, and in turn having taught such rising stars as Jesmyn Ward, Delbanco looks in particular at questions of influence and the contradictory, simultaneous impulses toward imitation and originality.
A sweeping history of how writing has preserved cultural practices, traditions, and knowledge throughout human history.
By focusing on the rhetorical moves found in all disciplines, They Say helps students master the ins and outs of argumentative writing in accessible language and with examples students can apply throughout their college career.
Provides crucial context for recent developments in AI, which holds important lessons for the future of humans living with smart technology.
Establishes the groundwork for rhetorical strangeness as a lens under the broader interdisciplinary umbrella of rhetoric and composition and shares a series of rhetorical devices for practically thinking about how compositions are made unique.
On Revision steps back to take in the big picture, showing authors how to hear their own writing voice and how to reread their work as if they didn't write it.
Connects pedagogical practices in writing classes to their broader political economic contexts, and argues that the analytical power of students' writing is prevented from reaching its potential by pressures within the academy and without, that tend to wed higher education with the aims and logics of "fast-capitalism."
This page offers quick reviews of the skills we covered in your librarian visit, plus additional resources to support your Community Advocacy Project. Please reach out to Libby Wheeles (eawheeles@umsl.edu) or another librarian with any questions!
Discover@UMSL is the library's main search tool for books, journal articles, and more. Results include materials owned at UMSL (including both print and e-books) as well as scholarly articles, newspaper articles, etc. from many of our online databases.
We recommend starting your research here. Then, follow up by also searching in library databases. Discover@UMSL does not pull in materials from every relevant database. Visit our Guide to Discover@UMSL for tips on using this search tool!
This link opens in a new windowJSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAccess World News features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. In addition to the news articles, the database offers Special Reports,
Hot Topics, and Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans.
Full-page images of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch began in January 2020.
This link opens in a new window