LibGuides: Hispanic Studies and Spanish Language: Articles

Discover@UMSL

The library's main search tool for books, articles, and more. This tool is an excellent place to begin your research because it searches across UMSL's materials AND multiple online databases at the same time. *Note: For non-English materials, it is helpful to use search terms in your target language (e.g., historia vs. history).

Option 1: Keyword Search

Type in your search terms
Click "Search"
Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.
For Spanish language materials: select Spanish; Castilian under "Languages"

Option 2: Title or Author Search

Type the title or author's name into the search bar
Select either "Title" or "Author" from the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar
Click "Search"
Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.
For Spanish language materials: select Spanish; Castilian under "Languages"

Option 3: Advanced Search

Select the Advanced Search option (underneath the Search Bar)
Use the search bar(s) to type in your terms
In the Select a Field drop-down menus, select what type of search you would like to run.
- Useful options for article searches include Title, Author, Abstract, Subject Terms, or Journal Title
For Spanish language materials: select Spanish; Castilian under "Language"
Adjust other limiters if needed
Click "Search"

Databases

You have access to scholarly research and other resources provided through online databases that UMSL subscribes to every year. These databases allow you to search resources in your subject area in a more advanced, targeted way.

We subscribe to multiple databases that offer resources related to language, literature, culture, etc., including Spanish / Hispanic studies.

We've offered some recommendations below! You can also visit our complete list of databases. Contact the library for assistance with accessing or navigating any of UMSL's databases.

Databases

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a scholarly bibliography on Latin America covering works dating back to 1935, in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Economics, Ethnohistory, Ethnology, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with volume 54, HLAS also includes a section on electronic resources for Latin American studies. Earlier volumes also include disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law and others.
SciELO This link opens in a new window
SciELO Network provides Open Access (OA) to journals, preprints, books, and other material. The content is mostly in Spanish and Portuguese, and is organized into national and thematic collections. Each collection is managed by a nationally recognized research organization.
The subject headings are broad, and include: Agriculture, Applied Social Sciences, Biology, Engineering, Earth Science, Health Sciences Human Sciences Linguistics, Letters, Arts, and Psychology/Psychoanalysis.
Material from the following countries is included: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay. Ecuador, Venezuela, and the West indies are in development.
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ClasePeriodica (Clase and Periodica) is an index of Latin American journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences produced by the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM). To limit to Spanish-language citations, choose Language Phrase from the keyword pull-down menu and type espanol into the search box.
It combines two databases: Clase indexes documents published in journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities; Periodica covers journals in science and technology.ClasePeriodica offers access to more than 400,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. It contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica is a collection of academic journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
Many subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. Fuente Académica es un índice electrónico de más de 450 revistas académicas de América Latina, Portugal y España, ofreciendo acceso en línea a muchos textos completos. Todos los temas principales están cubiertos, enfatizando particularmente la agricultura, las ciencias biológicas, economía, historia, derecho, literatura, filosofía, psicología, administración pública, la religión y la sociología. La base de datos se actualiza semanalmente.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers over 3,000 journals and series, books, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
A related database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals which lists advertising, submission and contact information for over 3,700 journals (but does NOT index the contents of these journals).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Abstracting coverage begins in 1984. Full-text coverage begins in 1995.Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access World News features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. In addition to the news articles, the database offers Special Reports,
Hot Topics, and Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans.
Full-page images of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch began in January 2020.
Videos and Help: https://www.newsbank.com/videos?qt-video_gallery_tabs=1#qt-video_gallery_tabs

Hispanic Studies and Spanish Language

Search Tips

Steps for Creating an Effective Search

How do I put my search terms together?

Journals

Discover@UMSL

Option 1: Keyword Search

Option 2: Title or Author Search

Option 3: Advanced Search

Databases

Databases