LibGuides: Hispanic Studies and Spanish Language: Recommended Resources

A small selection of reference texts for Hispanic Studies students. For more, explore the reference area on Level 3 of TJ Library. *Note: For Spanish Language reference, please see the Spanish Language Learning page.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780684312705
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
The Cambridge History of Latin America by Leslie Bethell (Editor, Contribution by)
Call Number: F1410 .C1834 1984
ISBN: 9780521232234
Publication Date: 1984-12-06
An authoritative large-scale history of the whole of Latin America, from the first contacts between native American peoples and Europeans in the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries to the present day.
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture by John King (Editor)
Call Number: F1408.3 .C283 2004
ISBN: 9780521631518
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Analyzes history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and considers the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America. There is a particular focus on narrative as well as on poetry, art and architecture, music, cinema, theatre, and broader issues of popular culture. A final chapter looks at the strong and rapidly expanding influence of latino/a culture in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Eamonn Rodgers (Editor); Professor Eamonn Rodgers (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781280334139
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Provides insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975.

Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online contains hundreds of dictionary, language reference, subject reference and companion works published by Oxford University Press.
Note: Only 5 UMSL users can access the Oxford Reference database simultaneously. Please close out of Oxford Reference when you are finished using it. If full text is not available to UMSL through Oxford Reference, check the UMSL & MOBIUS Catalogs and request any unavailable items through UMSL's Interlibrary Loan service.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Source offers a collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. UMSL owns volumes 1 (1978) - 362 (2011). Gale's new interface offers improved navigation and searching options. Training videos are available.

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a scholarly bibliography on Latin America covering works dating back to 1935, in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Economics, Ethnohistory, Ethnology, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology. Starting with volume 54, HLAS also includes a section on electronic resources for Latin American studies. Earlier volumes also include disciplines such as Cartography, Film, Folklore, Law and others.
SciELO This link opens in a new window
SciELO Network provides Open Access (OA) to journals, preprints, books, and other material. The content is mostly in Spanish and Portuguese, and is organized into national and thematic collections. Each collection is managed by a nationally recognized research organization.
The subject headings are broad, and include: Agriculture, Applied Social Sciences, Biology, Engineering, Earth Science, Health Sciences Human Sciences Linguistics, Letters, Arts, and Psychology/Psychoanalysis.
Material from the following countries is included: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay. Ecuador, Venezuela, and the West indies are in development.
ClasePeriodica This link opens in a new window
ClasePeriodica (Clase and Periodica) is an index of Latin American journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences produced by the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM). To limit to Spanish-language citations, choose Language Phrase from the keyword pull-down menu and type espanol into the search box.
It combines two databases: Clase indexes documents published in journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities; Periodica covers journals in science and technology.ClasePeriodica offers access to more than 400,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. It contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Académica is a collection of academic journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers over 3,000 journals and series, books, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
A related database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals which lists advertising, submission and contact information for over 3,700 journals (but does NOT index the contents of these journals).
Europeana Collections This link opens in a new window
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Also included are thematic collections on art, fashion, music, natural history, photography and World War I with related galleries, blogs and exhibitions.
SSRN This link opens in a new window
SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out into other science disciplines. Most, but not all papers are free.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Abstracting coverage begins in 1984. Full-text coverage begins in 1995.Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Access World News features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. In addition to the news articles, the database offers Special Reports,
Hot Topics, and Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans.
Full-page images of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch began in January 2020.
Videos and Help: https://www.newsbank.com/videos?qt-video_gallery_tabs=1#qt-video_gallery_tabs