Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evaluating Journals Before You Publish

Learn how to spot potential predatory publishers and hijacked journals before you submit your articles for publication.

Web Search for the Journal

  • Icon representing a web searchIs the journal within the top 5 entries on the first page of search results? Are there any scam alert postings?
    • Check multiple search engines (e.g., Google, Bing, Yahoo)
  • If the journal is open access, is it in the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)?
    • Verify all claims! Just because they say they're listed in DOAJ doesn't mean they actually are.
  • Is the journal owned by other university or research libraries?
  • Who owns the journal website’s URL?
  • Does the ISSN check out in WorldCat?

Journal Name

  • Icon representing a list of journal titlesCan the title of the journal be confused with another journal?
    • May indicate a predatory journal (employs questionable publishing practices) or a hijacked journal (sometimes simply a website designed to solicit manuscript submissions and pocket the money)
  • Characteristics of hijacked and predatory journals
    • Amateurish website that may mimic a legitimate one
    • Simple submission format and low-quality articles
    • Short peer-review timeline and ambiguous author fees
  • Is the journal on a black list of potentially predatory or hijacked journals?
  • Is the journal on a white list of trustworthy journals

Editorial Board

  • Icon representing an editorial boardAre the members of the editorial board listed with their full names and institutional affiliations?
  • Are they experts in their field?
    • Visit their academic/institution websites
  • Does their information match what you can find about them online?
    • Check CVs, LinkedIn
    • Look for institution affiliations that may be misleading (e.g., journal website says Cornell University in Ithaca, NY, but LinkedIn says Weill Cornell Medicine in Doha, Qatar)

Peer Review

  • Icon representing a group discussionDoes the journal state whether it is peer reviewed or edited?
  • Does it outline a review policy?
    • Peer review process can take 2–3 months. If timeline is only a few days or weeks, be wary.
  • Types of peer review:
    • Common: Single-blind, double-blind, open
    • New/evolving: Transferable, collaborative, post-publication
    • For an explanation of each type, with pros and cons, see Wiley’s Types of Peer Review

Journal Website

  • Icon representing a journal websiteIs the journal website competently designed, functional, and well-edited? Some red flags:
    • Grammatical errors, misspellings, random capitalization
    • Broken links, missing/distorted images
    • Poor navigation, inconsistent or incomplete headers/footers
  • Does the website use original language?
    • Check to see if portions of the site were copied verbatim from a different publisher’s website.
    • Paste a paragraph from the submission guidelines or peer review policy into a search engine.

Impact Factor

  • Icon representing impact factorDoes the journal claim to have an impact factor?
  • Is the impact factor presented without qualifiers (e.g., an asterisk with a note in fine print saying it’s an “informal estimate”)
  • Does it match what is found in Journal Citation Reports by Clarivate Analytics (previously Thomson Reuters)?
    • UMSL database
  • Be alert for misleading or fake metrics, including:
    • Index Copernicus Value
    • Systemic Impact Factor
    • CiteFactor

Icon made by Those Icons from www.flaticon.com

Publishing Policies and Author Fees

  • Icon representing publication feesDoes the journal clearly state its business model and publishing policies?
    • Submission guidelines
    • Copyright, licensing, and re-use
    • Competing interests
    • Open access (gold vs. green)
      • Gold: Author publishes in an open access journal
      • Green: Author archives a version of his/her work in an open access repository (such as UMSL’s Institutional Repository Library), regardless of where it is published originally
    • Long-term preservation
  • Does the journal clearly state how much money an author will pay to have each article published?

Journal Archive

  • Icon representing a journal archiveDoes the journal website contain a digital archive of its past issues, with links to full-text articles?
  • Do the journal’s articles make sense?
    • Do they use correct methodology, have valid conclusions, etc.?
  • Does the journal publish articles by a number of different authors?
    • Spot-check author affiliations

Indexing and Access

  • Icon representing information accessIs the journal indexed in more than one subject database (e.g., CINAHL, PubMed/MEDLINE, PsycINFO)?
    • Search for the journal in the database’s list of publications.
    • Be aware that Google and ResearchGate don’t use editorial staff to select content.
    • Journal websites should know the difference between indexes, vendors, and directories.
      • Indexes include CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Academic Search Complete
      • Vendors include EBSCO, ProQuest, and Ovid
      • Directories include Ulrich’s, Cabell’s, and DOAJ
      • If the journal claims to be indexed in Ulrich’s, be wary.
  • Does the journal publish articles by a number of different authors?
    • Spot-check author affiliations
  • Does the journal website contain a digital archive of its past issues, with links to full-text articles?

Publishing Schedule and Longevity of Journal

  • Icon representing a publishing scheduleDoes the journal clearly state how often its issues will be published each year? Does this match what you see in the archive?
  • Has the journal been around long enough to publish more than 10 articles?
    • If not, check the quality of the articles
    • For new journals, value quality over quantity