LibGuides: Optometry: Journal Articles

Tips for Finding Articles

Try using the truncation or wildcard symbol (*) to search variant word endings. Example: optometr* = optometry, optometrist, optometric
Combine different concepts using AND. Example: glaucoma AND diagnosis
Combine synonyms or related concepts using OR. Example: therapy OR treatment OR intervention
Limit your results by Date, Peer Reviewed, Publication Type, Age Group, etc.
Only use two or three limits at a time to prevent reduced results.
Don’t limit your search to full text. You can request full-text articles through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If you already have a citation, you can see if UMSL has the item by searching for the journal through Discover@UMSL.
If you have an article and you want to see who has cited it, use the Scopus database to see where it has been cited (see below).

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It is useful for analyzing publication topics, finding researchers, and obtaining counts of cited materials.

Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. Many find the EBSCO version easier to use, but an OVID version is also available.
Content Includes:
- Over 19 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine
- Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
- Citations from approximately 5,600 worldwide journals in 39 languages, and older journals in 60 languages
- Citations created by the NLM
- Coverage from 1946 to the present, with some older material
- Majority of publications are scholarly journals
- Includes a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters
- Majority of journals selected based on the recommendation of the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC)
For more information on PubMed, see the article "MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?"
The EBSCOhost version of MEDLINE is provided to UMSL via MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Medline (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Offers citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, healthcare services and the allied health fields, biological & physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Covers 1946 - present. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English-language abstracts.
Several other databases are available and can be selected from within the OVID search interface:
- OldMedline: The citations in this database are for articles originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1946 through 1965.
- Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations: PreMEDLINE (PREM), the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) in-process database for MEDLINE, provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSH heading(s) and added to MEDLINE. PreMEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage. Completed PreMEDLINE records are added as citations to MEDLINE on a weekly basis. However, records that do not receive indexing remain in Medline In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations.
IndexCat is a related database for early medical research.
EBSCO also supplies a version of Medline (see entry in the database list).
For more information on PubMed, see the article "MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?"
PubMed @ UMSL This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It includes material from the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life, behavioral, chemical, and bioengineering sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed @ UMSL displays links to UMSL library journals.
For more information on PubMed, see the article "MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?"
VisionCite This link opens in a new window
VisionCite is a unique citation database that was created to provide greater access to vision science related journal articles.
- Click the "ACCESS VISIONCITE HERE" button to access the search interface.
- Click the "Sign In" link in the upper right
- Choose "Student/Faculty"
- Enter the username & password obtained from the library
- Please log out when you are finished (we have a limit of 10 simultaneous users)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
American Physical Society - Physical Review Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Physical Society provides electronic access to APS journals and related news from the society and general field of study. These titles are: Physical Review A - Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics; Physical Review B - Condensed Matter and Materials Physics; Physical Review C - Nuclear Physics; Physical Review D - Particles, Fields, Gravitation, and Cosmology; Physical Review E - Statistical, Nonlinear, and Sort Matter Physics; Physical Review Letters; and other related publications.
Clinical eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The eBook Clinical Collection subscription was designed to support clinical professionals, researchers and students of medical disciplines. Featured in the collection are over 2,000 recent titles covering general practice, various specialties, topics in nursing and allied health, and supporting sciences.
Content is updated quarterly, and all titles are available with unlimited user access. All titles can be viewed online, and most can be downloaded and viewed offline. This collection is included in the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database. As a subscription collection, the list of available titles can and will change according to publisher agreements.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care and provides information and evidence to support health care decisions made by providers and patients. Included in the Cochrane Library are: Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews of research in healthcare) and Cochrane Protocol (an outline of a review in preparation which includes background, rationale, and methods).
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
This resource is provided to UMSL via MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, Bookshelf provides free access to reports and texts in life science & healthcare.
Ovid - Books This link opens in a new window
Selected Medical, Nursing and Ophthalmology electronic books. Chrome is the only officially supported browser for their current ebook reader.