LibGuides: Japanese Studies: Literature

UMSL Libraries holds English-language materials about Japanese literature as well some limited materials in Japanese. You will find additional literary criticism, etc. and Japanese texts available at the databases and websites linked on this page. We welcome purchase suggestions from UMSL Japanese faculty and students.

The Columbia Anthology of Modern Japanese Literature

Traditional Japanese Literature: An Anthology, Beginnings to 1600, Abridged Edition

Modern Japanese Literature

The Tale of Genji: A Visual Companion

Historical Dictionary of Modern Japanese Literature and Theater

The Columbia Anthology of Modern Japanese Drama

The Modern Murasaki

Japanese Folk Literature

Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers over 3,000 journals and series, books, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
A related database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals which lists advertising, submission and contact information for over 3,700 journals (but does NOT index the contents of these journals).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Criticism Online is an extensive compilation of scholarly and popular commentary drawn from an extensive collection of broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. UMSL has access to the following sections: Contemporary Literary Criticism - [Volume 1 (1973) - present], Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism [Volume 1 (1981) - 259 (2012)] , andTwentieth-Century Literary Criticism - [Volume 1 (1978) - present].
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. UMSL owns volumes 1 (1978) - 362 (2011). Gale's new interface offers improved navigation and searching options. Training videos are available.