LibGuides: Native American Studies: Articles

Discover@UMSL

The library's main search tool for books, articles, and more. This tool is an excellent place to begin your research because it searches across UMSL's materials AND multiple online databases at the same time.

Option 1: Keyword Search

Type in your search terms
Click "Search"
Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.
For Spanish language materials: select Spanish; Castilian under "Languages"

Option 2: Title or Author Search

Type the title or author's name into the search bar
Select either "Title" or "Author" from the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar
Click "Search"
Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.

Option 3: Advanced Search

Select the Advanced Search option (underneath the Search Bar)
Use the search bar(s) to type in your terms
In the Select a Field drop-down menus, select what type of search you would like to run.
- Useful options for article searches include Title, Author, Abstract, Subject Terms, or Journal Title
Adjust other limiters if needed
Click "Search"

Databases

You have access to scholarly research and other resources provided through online databases that UMSL subscribes to every year. These databases allow you to search resources in your subject area in a more advanced, targeted way.

We subscribe to multiple databases that offer resources related to language, literature, culture, etc., including Native American/Indigenous Studies.

We've offered some recommendations below! You can also visit our complete list of databases. Contact the library for assistance with accessing or navigating any of UMSL's databases.

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers over 3,000 journals and series, books, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
A related database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals which lists advertising, submission and contact information for over 3,700 journals (but does NOT index the contents of these journals).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Abstracting coverage begins in 1984. Full-text coverage begins in 1995.Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a digital searchable database which includes more than 250,000 articles drawn from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs covering scientific research information in the field of anthropology.

Articles in Google Scholar

Some articles and other resources you can find with Google Scholar are available on the web for free. Look to the right side of the search result for a link to access the article.

Others are hidden behind a paywall. Do not pay to access articles you find on Google Scholar. They may be available at UMSL, or you can request them at no cost through interlibrary loan.

Connecting Google Scholar to UMSL Libraries

You can make your research process smoother by configuring Google Scholar to provide a link that allows you to access articles directly through your home library. Your browser may automatically recognize you as an UMSL affiliate, but if not, you can set up the connection manually:

Visit the main Google Scholar webpage
Click on the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner
Select Settings
Select Library Links
Type "University of Missouri-St. Louis" into the search bar and click the magnifying glass.
Select University of Missouri - St. Louis - Full-Text @ UMSL
Click Save

Now, you should see the Full-Text @ UMSL link to the right side of any Google Scholar search results that you can access via UMSL Libraries. You may still need to provide your UMSL SSO and password.

Native American Studies

Journals

Search Tips

Steps for Creating an Effective Search

How do I put my search terms together?

Discover@UMSL

Option 1: Keyword Search

Option 2: Title or Author Search

Option 3: Advanced Search

Databases

Databases

Articles in Google Scholar

Connecting Google Scholar to UMSL Libraries