Skip to Main Content

Native American Studies

A guide to UMSL Libraries resources relating to both historical and contemporary Native American studies.

Getting Started

Native American Literature: a Very Short Introduction

The Cambridge Companion to Native American Literature

Why Indigenous Literatures Matter

That the People Might Live

Book of the Fourth World

Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers over 3,000 journals and series, books, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.

A related database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals which lists advertising, submission and contact information for over 3,700 journals (but does NOT index the contents of these journals).
Literature Criticism Online
Literary Criticism Online is an extensive compilation of scholarly and popular commentary drawn from an extensive collection of broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. UMSL has access to the following sections: Contemporary Literary Criticism - [Volume 1 (1973) - present], Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism [Volume 1 (1981) - 259 (2012)] , and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism - [Volume 1 (1978) - present].
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. UMSL owns volumes 1 (1978) - 362 (2011). Gale's new interface offers improved navigation and searching options. Training videos are available.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2025 4:26 PM
URL: https://libguides.umsl.edu/nativeamericanstudies
Print Page

Subjects: History, Language & Cultural Studies

Tags: american indian, indigenous, native, native american