LibGuides: Getting Started With Your Paper / Project: Find Materials

Beginner Research Tutorial Series

Where to look next?

The bulk of your research may require sources such as journal articles, academic book chapters, or primary sources.

Your professor may require using a certain amount of a specific source (e.g., 5 peer-reviewed journal articles), or leave it up to you. Scroll down for advice on finding different types of materials! If you get stuck in your search, please contact the library for help.

Finding Materials: Resources

Discover@UMSL is the library's general search tool, available on the main page of the library website. It allows you to search across our print and online materials as well as many online databases in one convenient place. Your results will include print and e-books, book chapters, journal and newspaper articles, and more. Use the filters on the left side of the results screen to narrow your results by source type, peer review, and more!

Visit our Guide to Discover@UMSL for more details on using this search tool!

Quick Tips for New Students
A PDF handout which reviews the basics of where to search, how to search, and how to get research help from the library.

You can find and access online articles/journals using Discover@UMSL as well as subject-specific databases. Discover@UMSL will also allow you to search for journals we carry in print.

Library Databases
- A complete list of databases to which the library provides access. Search by name, subject, or content type.
Subject Guides
- Online research guides prepared by UMSL librarians for each subject area. These guides usually link a selection of databases that are appropriate for your subject.
Journals by Title
- Best if you already know the name of the journal you are looking for, or would like to browse a very general subject area.

You can also find great sources by searching in a multidisciplinary database (offers resources for more than one subject area). Some suggestions are linked below.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.
SSRN This link opens in a new window
SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out into other science disciplines. Most, but not all papers are free.

In addition to using Discover@UMSL, you can find library books by:

Looking in the Databases A-Z list for e-book collections (use the second drop-down menu to filter)
Browse the library in person
- Books are organized using the Library of Congress system (to explore, see the LOC Outline). Books about similar topics will be shelved together.
- Have a call number, but not sure where to start looking? See the library floor plan.
Search using the MOBIUS catalog. MOBIUS books are free to request.

Did you know...?

Books at other libraries are free to request! If you're looking for something you can't find at UMSL or through MOBIUS, fill out an interlibrary loan form (individual book chapters are also eligible). You will receive a notice to your UMSL email address when your book is ready for pickup at the TJ Library front desk.

Thomas Jefferson Library and the Mercantile Library hold a variety of materials useful as primary sources for research on St. Louis/Missouri history as well as waterway and railroad transportation.

The Library also subscribes to databases that offer digital access to sources such as photographs and other artwork, newspapers, government documents, etc. Many are also available for free online! The resources below should help you navigate these options. If you have questions or get stuck, please contact the library!

Online Primary Source Resources List
News & Newspapers
A-Z Database List: Primary Sources
Subject Guides (some guides provide links to subscribed and free primary source collections available on the web)

Getting Started With Your Paper / Project

I need resources for __________ subject.

Beginner Research Tutorial Series

Where to look next?

Finding Materials: Resources

Did you know...?