LibGuides: Art & Design Research Guide: Articles

Discover@UMSL

The library's main search tool for books, articles, and more. This tool is an excellent place to begin your research because it searches across UMSL's materials AND multiple online databases at the same time.

Option 1: Keyword Search

Type in your search terms
Click "Search"
Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.

Option 2: Title or Author Search

Type the title or author's name into the search bar
Select either "Title" or "Author" from the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar
Click "Search"
Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.

Option 3: Advanced Search

Select the Advanced Search option (underneath the Search Bar)
Use the search bar(s) to type in your terms
In the Select a Field drop-down menus, select what type of search you would like to run.
- Useful options for article searches include Title, Author, Abstract, Subject Terms, or Journal Title
Adjust other limiters if needed
Click "Search"

Databases

You have access to scholarly research and other resources provided through online databases that UMSL subscribes to every year. These databases allow you to search resources in your subject area in a more advanced, targeted way.

We subscribe to multiple databases that offer art & design research and related resources.

We've linked recommendations to get you started below, or you can visit our complete list of databases. Contact the library for assistance with accessing or navigating any of UMSL's databases!

Art & Design Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.
Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Abstracting coverage begins in 1984. Full-text coverage begins in 1995.Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
Getty Research Institute This link opens in a new window
The Getty provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) through the BHA/RILA database which indexes European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. Also available are the Abstracts of International Conservation Literature (AATA), Photo Archive, Digital Collections and other research aids.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UMSL's collection of books from Wiley includes companion and reference works in the areas of Art, Business, Communication and Media Studies, Cultural Studies, Gender Studies, History, Literature, Museum Studies, Race and Ethnicity Studies, and Sociology. UMSL does not have access to all titles in Wiley's Online Library.

Arts & Letters Daily
Arts & Letters Daily is a web portal which links to a diverse array of news stories, features and reviews from across the humanities, each introduced with a short blurb or teaser. The site is owned by The Chronicle of Higher Education.
artnet
News, information on artists, galleries, auctions and events. Some features, such as the Pricing Database, require a subscription.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Artcyclopedia
Lists of top artists, news, articles, and links

Google Scholar

Can I use Google Scholar for academic research?

The short answer is yes! You can use Google Scholar to conduct scholarly research. However, there are situations in which a library database will be more efficient and useful.

How does Google Scholar compare to a library database?

May or may not provide you access to the full text. Look on the right side of the screen for an UMSL Libraries link or try the title in Discover@UMSL.
Does not search materials in a particular discipline.
No easy way to sort results.
Fewer options to narrow your search with limiters.
Misses out on print materials.

Google Scholar may still provide you with valuable results, but we recommend also utilizing the library's resources to complete your research.

Art & Design Research Guide

Search Tips

Vocabulary

Too many results?

Too few results?

Journals