Skip to main content

Slavery and Anti-Slavery

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

The most ambitious project of its kind, the content of Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive is carefully reviewed by a renowned board of scholars and thematically arranged. It covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more.

In its entirety, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never-before-available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.

Additionally, many of research tools – research guides, subject outlines, and scholarly essays on the subject – highlight the value of the content and assist students with access to the primary materials; introductory essays on sources will describe archival collections history and explain their research value. A subject guide search allows researchers to submit searches against the archive's subject vocabulary.

There are four parts.  A basic search will include all of them, but users can choose to search individual collections:

  • Part I - Debates over Slavery and Abolition:  Covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery: legal issues; the Caribbean; children and women under slavery; modes of resistance; and much more, from 1490 to 1896.
  • Part II - The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World:  Charts the inception of slavery in Africa and its rise as perpetuated on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean, with particular focus on the United Kingdom, France, and the United States.
  • Part III - The Institution of Slavery:  Examines the institution of slavery through legal documents, plantation records, personal accounts, newspapers, and government documents, and explores slavery as a labor and legal system, the relationship between master and slave, slavery and religion, free labor, and the lives of free African Americans, covering 1490 to 1888.
  • Part IV - Age of Emancipation: Begins in 1788 with Lord Dunmore's offer of emancipation and ends in 1896 with Plessy v. Ferguson, this section includes a range of rare documents related to the emancipation of slaves in the United States, as well as Latin America, the Caribbean, and other areas of the world.