Acquired by the St. Louis Mercantile Library in 1986 when the newspaper ceased publication, this vast collection covers the history, culture and life of the St. Louis region and the state of Missouri. The clips and photos cover a wide array of topics, from individuals, to events, to a multitude of other subjects.
NOTE: This is a work in progress (Complete: St. Louis subject index, Names Index A-T) The material in the collection is in several different formats (indexes, clippings files, photos, microform, etc.), and most of the material is NOT online. The Thomas Jefferson Library, located in the same building as the Mercantile, has the microform version of the St. Louis Globe Democrat available. A few years of the Globe-Democrat (1975 (Nov.) - 1979) are also indexed in the Index to St. Louis newspapers.
The St. Louis American is a weekly newspaper serving the African-American community of St. Louis, Missouri. The St. Louis American has garnered more than 100 local, regional, and national awards for excellence in journalism, design, and commitment to the community, including being named 'Newspaper of the Year' by the Local Media Association in 2015. The American has been named the ‘#1 African-American Newspaper in the Nation’ 12 times in recent years by the National Newspaper Publishers’ Association, including five straight years from 2012–16, and is a five-time recipient of Missouri Press Association’s first place award for General Excellence, as well as being named a Missouri GOLD MEDAL newspaper in 2014 and 2013.
This collection contains digitized and enhanced issues of the St. Louis Argus scanned from micro-film for the years 1915-1926. The St. Louis Argus, while not technically the 'first' black newspaper in St. Louis, became the most recognizable name in the black journalism locally for much of the 20th century.
This work was done by Mark Loehrer, St. Louis Historian, while working on his undergraduate in History from the University of Missouri St Louis.
This project was blessed by the University of Missouri St. Louis, State Historical Society Research Center.
Began with July 18, 1872 issue; ceased with May 19, 1875 issue. Cf. Gregory, W. Amer. newspapers.
Description based on: Vol. 1, no. 2 (July 19, 1872).
"Republican." Cf. Ayer, 1875.
Publisher: William McKee and Daniel M. Houser, <1873>; Missouri Staats-Zeitung Company, <1875>.
Merged with: St. Louis democrat, to form: St. Louis globe-democrat.
Washington University Special Collections has issues of the Evening Whirl Newspaper, ranging from 1955 through the present. Issues are arranged chronologically, with a selection having been removed and scanned due to fragility.
Specializing in Missouri newspapers, the collection Includes print, microfilm, and some online newspapers. A limited number of titles have been indexed. Follow the link for a full list of titles, dates, and formats offered. If a paper is not available digitally, it is often possible to obtain microfilm via Interlibrary Loan.