Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts education-related articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
Subjects covered include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education.
Education Index Retrospective provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes indexing of some 500 periodicals. It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews.
Subjects Covered: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Continuing Education, Curriculum, Distance Learning, Educational Law & Litigation, Elementary Education, Ethnic/Multicultural Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Juvenile Delinquency, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy, Parent-Teacher Relations, Preschool Education, Psychology of Learning, Religious Education, School Administration, School Buildings, Science & Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Tests & Measurements, Vocational Education, War & Education.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provide access over one million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. In addition to ERIC's indexing of educational journal content, ERIC's Document coverage includes conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Major areas of coverage include: Adult, Career, and Vocational Education, Counseling and Personnel Services, Elementary and Early Childhood Education, Education Management, Handicapped and Gifted Children, Higher Education, Information Resources, Junior Colleges, Languages and Linguistics, Reading and Communication Skills, Rural Education and Small Schools, Science, Mathematics, and Environmental Education, Social Studies and Social Science Education, Teacher Education, Tests, Measurement, and Evaluation, Teacher Education, Test, Measurement, and Evaluation, and Urban Education.
The EBSCOhost version of ERIC is provided to UMSL via MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network. A ProQuest version of ERIC is also available.
The IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library is primarily a collection of public domain music scores which also contains thousands of recordings ( mostly from the Western classical canon). Note: Some files may be copyright protected.
The Internet Archive's Audio Archive includes audio books and poetry, a live music archive, performances of twentieth century and contemporary music (including folk and jazz music and arts, recordings of historic 78 RPM records and cylinders, news and public affairs, independent radio news features, radio programs, podcasts, and more.
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. Some journals & books are available from as far back as the 1800s. For more recent material, try using Summon or one of the individual databases. ** In response to the COVID pandemic JSTOR has extended free access to an extended list of journals until June 30, 2022. **
UMSL has access to the following JSTOR Collections:
Arts & Sciences I (economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics)
Arts & Sciences II (additional journals for many of the disciplines in Arts & Sciences I, plus journals in several additional disciplines: archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies)
Arts & Sciences III i(languages and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, feminist & women's studies, and the history & study of art and architecture)
Arts & Sciences IV (business, education, and law, psychology, public policy and administration)
Health & General Sciences (historical scientific journals, health sciences)
Books at JSTOR (50,000+ titles)
Early Journal Content (journals published in the United States before 1923 and published in other countries before 1870)
Researchers and students may also be interested in JSTOR's Data for Research beta site, a free, self-service tool that allows computer scientists, digital humanists, and other researchers to select and interact with JSTOR content. The Data for Research site contains a set of web-based tools, including:
a powerful faceted search interface that can be leveraged to define content of interest through an iterative process of searching and results filtering
word frequencies, citations, key terms, and ngrams utilized for conducting analysis of document-level data
topic modeling (classification of subject headings at the article level), a powerful tool for content selection and filtering
downloadable datasets containing word frequencies, citations, key terms, or ngrams associated with the content selected