Naxos Music Library [NML] offers streaming access to more than 100,000 CDs and nearly two million tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library focuses primarily on classical music, but jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users and sessions will time out after four minutes of inactivity. When you are finished, please close out of the Naxos Music Library so others can use the service.
Liner notes for many recordings
Audio book transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera with listening examples
Libretti and synopses of over 700 operas
A pronunciation guide for composer and artist names
An overview of important musical terms
Work details with instrumentation, publishers, duration, other information and available recordings
The Music Index is a comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.
The IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library is primarily a collection of public domain music scores which also contains thousands of recordings ( mostly from the Western classical canon). Note: Some files may be copyright protected.
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library
brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.
JSTOR contains articles, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some journal issues are available from as far back as the 1800s. For more recent material, try using Summon or one of the individual databases.
UMSL has access to the following JSTOR Collections:
Arts & Sciences I (economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics)
Arts & Sciences II (additional journals for many of the disciplines in Arts & Sciences I, plus journals in several additional disciplines: archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies)
Arts & Sciences III i(languages and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, feminist & women's studies, and the history & study of art and architecture)
Arts & Sciences IV (business, education, and law, psychology, public policy and administration)
Ecology and Botany I (journals from the Ecological Society of America, ecosystems, ecology, biodiversity, climate change, conservation, experimental biology, botany, plant biology, systematic botany, and taxonomy.
Health & General Sciences (historical scientific journals, health sciences)
Early Journal Content (journals published in the United States before 1923 and published in other countries before 1870)
Researchers and students may also be interested in JSTOR's Data for Research beta site, a free, self-service tool that allows computer scientists, digital humanists, and other researchers to select and interact with JSTOR content. The Data for Research site contains a set of web-based tools, including:
a powerful faceted search interface that can be leveraged to define content of interest through an iterative process of searching and results filtering
word frequencies, citations, key terms, and ngrams utilized for conducting analysis of document-level data
topic modeling (classification of subject headings at the article level), a powerful tool for content selection and filtering
downloadable datasets containing word frequencies, citations, key terms, or ngrams associated with the content selected
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. A selection of AP News videos are also available in this database. NOTE: Videos are only available if you are on campus or if you are using a VPN connection to campus.
This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for. Also included are thematic collections on art, fashion, music, natural history, photography and World War I with related galleries, blogs and exhibitions.
The NDL Digital Collections enables a user to search and view a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan.
* Ensure "Available Online" is checked. Some elements have been translated into English; most are in Japanese. *
SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out into other science disciplines. Most, but not all papers are free.
The ScienceDirect platform provides full text access to over 1600 Elsevier journal titles.
If an item is not available for download via the ScienceDirect site, it may be available in other UMSL collections. Use the Locate Journal Titles option to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print), or for books, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book's title or author. If UMSL does not own the material, please consider using UMSL's Interlibrary Loan service (available for current UMSL students, faculty & staff members) before purchasing an item.