LibGuides: Education Faculty Resources: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. It contains thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as frequently used films for classroom instruction, newly released films and previously unavailable archival material oriented toward academic institutions.
Accounts enable users to save clips and create interactions (primarily for instructors).
Help with AVON Videos (finding, sharing, playing videos, etc.)
https://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
https://alexanderstreet.com/products/academic-video-online
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. More information on the benefits of our site license: Frequently Asked Site License Subscription Questions
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Education eBook Collection (part of the eBook Collection (EBSCO)) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's eBOOK Education Collection features thousands of titles supporting students and faculty in the Education discipline. Titles range from introductory texts for undergraduate coursework to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher ed classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.
This is a dynamic collection; the list of available titles can and will change according to publisher agreements. This collection is included in the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts education-related articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.
Subjects covered include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, and Vocational Education.
Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Index Retrospective provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes indexing of some 500 periodicals. It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews.
Subjects Covered: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Continuing Education, Curriculum, Distance Learning, Educational Law & Litigation, Elementary Education, Ethnic/Multicultural Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Juvenile Delinquency, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy, Parent-Teacher Relations, Preschool Education, Psychology of Learning, Religious Education, School Administration, School Buildings, Science & Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Tests & Measurements, Vocational Education, War & Education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provide access over one million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. In addition to ERIC's indexing of educational journal content, ERIC's Document coverage includes conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Major areas of coverage include: Adult, Career, and Vocational Education, Counseling and Personnel Services, Elementary and Early Childhood Education, Education Management, Handicapped and Gifted Children, Higher Education, Information Resources, Junior Colleges, Languages and Linguistics, Reading and Communication Skills, Rural Education and Small Schools, Science, Mathematics, and Environmental Education, Social Studies and Social Science Education, Teacher Education, Tests, Measurement, and Evaluation, Teacher Education, Test, Measurement, and Evaluation, and Urban Education.
The EBSCOhost version of ERIC is provided to UMSL via MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
A ProQuest version of ERIC is also available.
Explora (Educator's Edition) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explora is EBSCO's K-12 interface and is listed here for Education students working to develop lesson plans & curricula.
Explora is made available to UMSL via MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network in cooperation with the Missouri State Library.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Missouri Digital Heritage This link opens in a new window
Through the Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative, the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library, and the State Historical Society of Missouri, are working with institutions across the state to digitize their records. Included are historic newspapers, documents, art, photographs, maps and other materials.
National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Education Statistics is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other countries.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of topics: computers, programming, hardware, system administration, security, general software, business case studies, accounting, careers, presentations, science, medicine, psychology, math, statistics & data science, travel & hobbies.
Formats include learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, videos, etc.
O'Reilly requires users to log in with their SSO and maintains a record of your progress and recently used items. See below for information on how to make permalinks directly to individual items.
Help: O'Reilly for Higher Education and O'Reilly for Public Libraries

Linking to a book within O'Reilly:
Example URL for Think Python, 3rd Edition: https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/hands-on-machine-learning/9781492032632/
The direct link which will authenticate users for this book would be:
https://go.oreilly.com/university-of-missouri-at-st-louis/library/view/think-python-3rd/9781098155421/

The formula is https://go.oreilly.com/university-of-missouri-at-st-louis/library/view/ plus the bolded section below from the book's URL you see in your browser:
https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/think-python-3rd/9781098155421/?sso_link=yes&sso_link_from=university-of-missouri-at-st-louis
think-python-3rd/9781098155421/
ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals, including peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.
This resource is provided to UMSL via MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Salem Press includes references, books, and primary sources in the areas of Literature, History, Science, Health, Education, Business, Economics, Counseling/Social Work, and more. You can search all of UMSL's titles at once, search only selected titles using the Advanced Search, or browse the Subject Index.
Primary Sources - Documents from US and World History:
- Defining Documents
- Milestone Documents