LibGuides: Communication & Media Studies: Home

Selected Resources / Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media.
This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. & Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955 and covers five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials This link opens in a new window
Access to over 8,000 historic television commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
This collection supports interdisciplinary research, not only in marketing and advertising history, but also in visual studies, communication, women's studies, public health, cultural anthropology, nutrition, technology, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)

Citations

Library Catalog of Books Start with the UMSL catalog. If you cannot find what you are looking for, expand your search to the MERLIN catalog (all four UM campuses), the MOBIUS catalog (60+academic libraries in MO, plus a few public library systems), or the WorldCat (the mother of all catalogs).

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press Stylebook is a usage and style guide for journalists and other writers. The Stylebook includes chapters on data journalism, business, fashion, food, religion, health, science and sports terms, and provides information on media law, news values, punctuation, social media, polls and surveys. It does not specify page formatting and citation rules in the same way other academic style guides (APA, MLA, etc.) do.
Ten users may simultaneously access this database.
Spring 2021 update from AP: ... we are retiring our Pronunciation Guide. Our website traffic data shows us you come to Stylebook Online for guidance on numerals, dates and titles, but rarely for phonetic pronouncers of names in the news. We want to focus our time and effort on the help you need, so we will remove the Pronunciation Guide and prioritize regular updates of the words and phrases you need.

Publication Manual of the APA, 6th edition A paper copy of the 6th edition is available at the Public Service Desk for library use only. The 7th ed/paper is on order and will be at the Desk. An online version of the 7th ed. is not yet available.

Communication & Media Studies

Librarian

Selected Resources / Databases

Citations

Selected Communication Web Sources