Enter an ISBN or DOI to find or update your request.
Dissertations and Theses are original research works. They can be a 'sneak peek' into scholarly ideas and findings at the cusp of popular scholarly discourse. They tend to have extensive bibliographies and can provide insight into the early work of a specific person, and can be helpful for biographical and historical research.
Obtaining dissertations can be a challenge. Sometimes they are immediately available as full text online, but when they aren't, turn to UMSL's Interlibrary Loan. We can likely help you get the materials you need by borrowing it from a library that has it. You can also try contacting the author. Some authors post their dissertations on their own website or have journal articles or a book, that draws heavily from their graduate work.
Photo of a handbound dissertation by Jonas Löwgren CC licensed
Unfortunately this database is currently not available, although the referenced theses and dissertations should display in the British Library's main catalog. As the British Library recovers from a cyberattack in October 2023, they're slowly bringing resources back online. EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximize the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
Theses Canada is a collaborative program between Library and Archives Canada (LAC) and nearly 70 universities accredited by Universities Canada that strives to acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities, provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection, and facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.
Open Dissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Coverage: early 20th century to the present. This database will receive regular updates and additions.
