Optometry

Caution • General Ophthalmology • Anatomy & Physiology • Cataracts & IOL • Cornea • Differential Diagnosis & Systemic Disease • Examination & Testing • Eye Infections & Diseases • Glaucoma • Historical Resources • Low Vision • Neuro-Ophthalmology • Nursing & Allied Health • Optics & Physics • Patient Education • Pediatrics & Strabismus • Perception • Refractive Errors • Retina • Surgery • Trauma

Many of the books listed on this page were published by IntechOpen. Please note that this publisher charges authors for publication and refers authors to a company that charges for pre-submission editorial services. IntechOpen's website does not provide details of its peer review process. Users may find works of variable quality and should evaluate sources found on this platform with care.

• Advances in Ophthalmology (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/65700
• Causes and Coping with Visual Impairment and Blindness (IntechOpen)
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2018). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/130167
• Chinese-English Ophthalmology Dictionary (Cybersight)
  • Teng, C. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/chinese-english-ophthalmology-dictionary/
• Frontiers in Ophthalmology and Ocular Imaging (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Ziaei, A. (Ed.). (2019). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/frontiers-in-ophthalmology-and-ocular-imaging
• Making Eye Health a Population Health Imperative: Vision for Tomorrow (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Teutsch, S. M., McCoy, M. A., & Woodbury, R. B. (Eds.). (2016). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK385157/
• New Horizons in Vision Science, Optometry and Ocular Surface (MDPI)
  • Sánchez-González, J.-M., Rocha-de-Lossada, C., & Cerviño, A. (Eds.). (2023). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/128627
• Ophthalmology: Current Clinical and Research Updates (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Davey, P. (Ed.). (2014). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/ophthalmology-current-clinical-and-research-updates
• OphthoBook (Tim Root, Virtual Eye Professor)
  • Root, T. (2009). Retrieved from https://timroot.com/ophthobook/
• A Practical Guide to Diabetes-Related Eye Care (American Diabetes Association)
  • Gardner, T. W. (2022). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK582428/
• Visual Impairment and Blindness: What We Know and What We Have to Know (IntechOpen)
  • Lo Giudice, G., & Catalá, A. (Eds.). (2020). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/67651

Back to Contents

• Eye Motility (IntechOpen)
  • Mravici, I. (2019). Retrieved from https://www.doabooks.org/doab?func=fulltext&uiLanguage=en&rid=37944
• The Ocular Circulation (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Kiel, J. W. (2010). Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK53323/

Back to Contents

• Achieving Excellence in Cataract Surgery: A Step-by-Step Approach (Cybersight)
  • Colvard, D. M. (2009). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/library/achieving-excellence-in-cataract-surgery-a-step-by-step-approach/
• Benefits and Harms of Femtosecond Laser Assisted Cataract Surgery: A Systemic Review (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Quiñones, A., Gleitsmann, K., Freeman, M., Fu, R., O’Neil, M., Motu’apuaka, M., & Kansagara, D. (2013). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK185089/
• Cataract Blindness and Simulation-Based Training for Cataract Surgeons: An Assessment of the HelpMeSee Approach (technical report) (RAND Corporation)
  • Broyles, J. R., Glick, P., Hu, J., & Lim, Y.-W. (2012). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/115016
• Cataract Surgery (IntechOpen)
  • Zaidi, F. H. (2013). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/239
• Cataracts in Childhood (booklet) (Cybersight)
  • Neely, D. E., Wilson, M. E., Plager, D. A., & Ben Zion, I. (2002). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/library/cataracts-in-childhood/
• Childhood Cataract in Africa (manual) (Cybersight)
  • Courtwright, P., Bowman, R., Gilbert, C., Lewallen, S., van Dijk, K., & Yorston, D. (2007). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/childhood-cataract-in-africa/
• Current Cataract Surgical Techniques (IntechOpen)
  • Wang, X. (Ed.). (2021). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/130957
• Difficulties in Cataract Surgery (IntechOpen)
  • Zilfyan, A. (2018). Retrieved from https://www.doabooks.org/doab?func=fulltext&uiLanguage=en&rid=37277
• Intraocular Lens (IntechOpen)
  • Wang, X., & Ferreri, F. M. (Eds.). (2020). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/67549
• Manual Small Incision Cataract Surgery (booklet; also in Chinese and Spanish) (Cybersight)
  • Helveston, E. M., & Cherwek, D. H. (Eds.). (2014). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/manual-small-incision-cataract-surgery/

Back to Contents

• Introduction to Eye Banking: A Handbook and Manual (Cybersight)
  • Rosenwasser, G. O., & Nicholson, W. J. (2003). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/introduction-to-eye-banking-a-handbook-and-atlas/
• Keratitis (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Srinivasan, M. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/keratitis
• Keratoplasties: Surgical Techniques and Complications (IntechOpen): peer-reviewed
  • Mosca, L. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/keratoplasties-surgical-techniques-and-complications

Back to Contents

• Novel Diagnostic Methods in Ophthalmology (IntechOpen)
  • Nowińska, A. (2019). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/54871
• Ocular Differential Diagnosis, 8th ed. (Cybersight)
  • Roy, F. H. (2007). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/ocular-differential-diagnosis/
• Ocular Syndromes and Systemic Diseases, 4th ed. (Cybersight)
  • Roy, F. H. (2007). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/ocular-syndromes-and-systemic-diseases/

Back to Contents

• OCT: Applications in Ophthalmology (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Lanza, M. (Ed.). (2018). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/55132
• Optical Coherence Tomography (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Kawasaki, M. (Ed.). (2013). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/66452
• A Practical Guide to Clinical Application of OCT in Ophthalmology (IntechOpen)
  • Lanza, M. (Ed.). (2019). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/130795
• Selected Topics in Optical Coherence Tomography (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Liu, G. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/65540
• Vision and Refraction (booklet) (Cybersight)
  • Helveston, E. M., Molinari, A., Subrayan, V., & Chawla, R. (2014). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/vision-refraction-manual/

Back to Contents

• Advances in Common Eye Infections (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2016). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/advances-in-common-eye-infections
• Advances in the Diagnosis and Management of Uveitis (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rodriguez-Garcia, A., & Foster, C. S. (Eds.). (2019). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/advances-in-the-diagnosis-and-management-of-uveitis
• Causes and Coping with Visual Impairment and Blindness (IntechOpen)
  • Rumelt, S. (2018). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/42827
• Conjunctivitis: A Complex and Multifaceted Disorder (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Pelikan, Z. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/conjunctivitis-a-complex-and-multifaceted-disorder
• Dry Eye Syndrome: Modern Diagnostic Techniques and Advanced Treatments (IntechOpen)
  • Ferreri, F. M. (Ed.). (2022). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/90114
• Eye Diseases: Recent Advances, New Perspectives and Therapeutic Options (IntechOpen)
  • Di Lauro, S., Millas, S. C., & Mira, D. G. (Eds.). (2023). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/113206
• Infectious Eye Diseases: Recent Advances in Diagnosis and Treatment (IntechOpen)
  • Rodriguez-Garcia, A., & Hernandez-Camarena, J. C. (Eds.). (2021). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/77702
• The Merck Manual: Eye Disorders (Merck)
  • Merck & Co., Inc. (2023). Retrieved from https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/eye_disorders.html
• Ocular Diseases (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Adio, A. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/ocular-diseases
• Ocular Hypertension: The Knowns and Unknowns (IntechOpen)
  • Lanza, M. (Ed.). (2021). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/131057

Back to Contents

• Assessing and Treating Glaucoma in Children of the Developing World (booklet) (Cybersight)
  • Douglas, G. R., Levin, A., Neely, D. E., & Walton, D. S. (2014). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/assessing-and-treating-glaucoma-in-children-of-the-developing-world/
• Automated Imaging Technologies for the Diagnosis of Glaucoma: A Comparative Diagnostic Study for the Evaluation of the Diagnostic Accuracy, Performance as Triage Tests and Cost-Effectiveness (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Azuara-Blanco, A., Banister, K., Boachie, C., et al. (2016). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK338828/
• Glaucoma: Basic and Clinical Aspects (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2013). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-basic-and-clinical-aspects
• Glaucoma: Basic and Clinical Concepts (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-basic-and-clinical-concepts
• Glaucoma: Current Clinical and Research Aspects (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Davey, P. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-current-clinical-and-research-aspects
• Glaucoma: Diagnosis and Management of Chronic Open Angle Glaucoma and Ocular Hypertension (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • National Collaborating Centre for Acute Care (UK). (2009). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK61894/
• Glaucoma: Intraocular Pressure and Aqueous Dynamics (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Ichhpujani, P. (Ed.). (2016). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-intraocular-pressure-and-aqueous-dynamics
• Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery (Springer Nature)
  • Sng, C. C. A., & Barton, K. (Eds.). (2021). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/35148
• The Mystery of Glaucoma (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Kubena, T. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/the-mystery-of-glaucoma
• Primary Care Screening for Ocular Hypertension and Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma (NCBI Bookshelf) 
  • Fleming, C., Whitlock, E., Beil, T., & Smit, B. (2005). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK42905/
• Screening for Glaucoma: Comparative Effectiveness (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Ervin, A. M., Boland, M. V., Myrowitz, E. H., et al. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK95371/
• Surveillance for Ocular Hypertension: An Evidence Synthesis and Economic Evaluation (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Burr, J. M., Botello-Pinzon, P., Takwoingi, Y., et al. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK100061/
• Treatment for Glaucoma: Comparative Effectiveness (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Boland, M. V., Ervin, A. M., Friedman, D., et al. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK95391/

Back to Contents

• American Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Ophthalmology (Open Library)
  • Wood, C. A. (1921). Retrieved from https://openlibrary.org/books/OL7057320M/The_American_encyclopedia_and_dictionary_of_ophthalmology
• Soaking Up the Rays: Light Therapy and Visual Culture in Britain, c. 1890–1940 (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Woloshyn, T. A. (Ed.). (2017). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK476356/
• System of Ophthalmology (Open Library)
  • Duke-Elder, S. (1958). Retrieved from https://openlibrary.org/books/OL14044452M/System_of_ophthalmology

Back to Contents

• Screening for Visual Impairment in Children Ages 1-5 Years (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Chou, R., Dana, T., & Bougatsos, C. (2011). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK52708/
• Screening for Visual Impairment in Older Adults (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Chou, R., Dana, T., & Bougatsos, C. (2009). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK35192/
• Visual Impairments: Determining Eligibility for Social Security Benefits (National Academies Press)
  • Lennie, P., & Van Hemel, S. B. (2002). Retrieved from https://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=10320
  • Note: The URL takes you to the NAP page where at first it looks like you have to buy the book. However, there is a “Download Free PDF” link that requires you to set up a free MyNAP account, or you have the option of reading the text online without logging in.

Back to Contents

• Neuro-Ophthalmology: Clinical Signs and Symptoms, 4th ed. (Cybersight)
  • Walsh, T. J. (1998). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/neuro-ophthalmology-clinical-signs-and-symptoms/
• Walsh and Hoyt’s Clinical Neuro-Ophthalmology, 6th ed. (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins)
  • Miller, N. R., Newman, N. J., Biousse, V., & Kerrison, J. B. (2005). Retrieved from https://collections.lib.utah.edu/details?id=190031

Back to Contents

• Volume 1: Ophthalmic Nursing (booklet; also in Chinese and Spanish) (Cybersight)
  • Machin, H., Cordero, I., O’Sullivan, F., & Helveston, E. (2012). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/library/volume-i-ophthalmic-nursing/

Back to Contents

• Eyesight and Imaging: Advances and New Perspectives (IntechOpen)
  • Ziaei, A., & Lanza, M. (Eds.). (2021). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/131233
• High Resolution Imaging in Microscopy and Ophthalmology: New Frontiers in Biomedical Optics (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Bille, J. F. (Ed.). (2019). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK554051/
• Ophthalmic Optics and Visual Function (MDPI)
  • Negishi, K. (Ed.). (2022). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/87468
• Physics of the Eye (chapter in College Physics, 2nd ed.) (OpenStax)
  • Urone, P. P., & Hinrichs, R. (2022). Retrieved from https://openstax.org/books/college-physics-2e/pages/26-1-physics-of-the-eye

Back to Contents

• The Eye Book: An Illustrated Guide for Patients (Cybersight)
  • Youngstein, K. (2017). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/library/the-eye-book-an-illustrated-guide-for-patients/
• A Parent’s Guide to Their Premature Baby’s Eyes (brochure) (Cybersight)
  • Association for Retinopathy of Prematurity and Related Diseases. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/library/parents-guide-to-their-premature-babys-eyes/

Back to Contents

• Binocular Vision and Ocular Motility: Theory and Management of Strabismus (Cybersight)
  • von Noorden, G. K., & Campos, E. C. (2002). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/textbook-von-noorden-campos-2002/
• Clinical Approach to Ocular Motility: Characteristics and Orthoptic Mangement of Strabismus, 2nd ed. (Open.Michigan)
  • Iacobucci, I.L. (2015). Retrieved from https://open.umich.edu/find/open-educational-resources/medical/clinical-approach-ocular-motility-characteristics-orthoptic-management-strabismus-second-edition#texts
• Strabismus: A Decision Making Approach (Cybersight); also in Chinese
  • von Noorden, G. K., & Helveston, E. M. (2010). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/strabismus-a-decision-making-approach/
• Surgical Management of Strabismus: A Practical and Updated Approach (Cybersight)
  • Helveston, E. M. (2005). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/library/surgical-management-of-strabismus-a-practical-and-updated-approach/

Back to Contents

• The Joy of Visual Perception: A Web Book (York University)
  • Kaiser, P. K. (1996). Retrieved from https://www.yorku.ca/eye/thejoy.htm

Back to Contents

• Astigmatism: Optics, Physiology and Management (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Goggin, M. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/astigmatism-optics-physiology-and-management
• Updates on Myopia: A Clinical Perspective (Springer Nature)
  • Ang, M., & Wong, T. Y. (Eds.). (2020). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/32766

Back to Contents

• Age-Related Macular Degeneration: Etiology, Diagnosis and Management—A Glance at the Future (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Lo Guidice, G. (Ed.). (2013). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/age-related-macular-degeneration-etiology-diagnosis-and-management-a-glance-at-the-future
• Age Related Macular Degeneration: The Recent Advances in Basic Research and Clinical Care (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Ying, G.-S. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/age-related-macular-degeneration-the-recent-advances-in-basic-research-and-clinical-care
• Diabetic Eye Disease: From Therapeutic Pipeline to the Real World (IntechOpen)
  • Lo Giudice, G. (Ed.). (2022). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/131268
• Diabetic Retinopathy (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Ola, M. S. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/diabetic-retinopathy
• Diabetic Retinopathy for the Comprehensive Ophthalmologist, 2nd ed. (Deluma Medical Publishers)
  • Maturi, R., Walker, J. D., & Chambers, R. (2015). Retrieved from https://drcobook.com/download
• Early Events in Diabetic Retinopathy and Intervention Strategies (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Tsin, A., & Grigsby, J. (Eds.). (2018). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/early-events-in-diabetic-retinopathy-and-intervention-strategies
• Electroretinograms (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Belusic, G. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/electroretinograms
• Nutritional Supplements for Age-Related Macular Degeneration: A Systematic Review (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Kansagara, D., Gleitsmann, K., Gillingham, M., Freeman, M., & Quiñones, A. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK84269/
• The Organization of the Retina and Visual System (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Kolb, H., Fernandez, E., & Nelson, R. (2018). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK11530/
• Recent Advances and New Perspectives in Managing Macular Degeneration (IntechOpen)
  • Davey, P. G. (Ed.). (2022). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/97103
• Retinoblastoma: Past, Present and Future (IntechOpen)
  • Alkatan, H. M. (Ed.). (2019). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/67078
• The Retinoscopy Book: An Introductory Manual for Eye Care Professionals (Cybersight)
  • Corboy, J. M., Norath, D., Stone, R., & Reffner, R. (2003). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/the-retinoscopy-book-an-introductory-manual-for-eye-care-professionals/
• Retinoscopy Handbook for Clinicians (manual) (Cybersight)
  • Wassnig, S. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/manual-retinoscopy-handbook-for-clinicians/
• A Systematic Review of Intravitreal Bevacizumab for the Treatment of Diabetic Macular Edema (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Fortin, P., Mintzes, B., & Innes, M. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK169472
• Vitrectomy (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Song, Z. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/vitrectomy

Back to Contents

• Advances in Eye Surgery (IntechOpen)
  • Pacheco, P. A. (2016). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/advances-in-eye-surgery
• Blepharoplasty: Special Focus on Asian Blepharoplasty (UCL Press)
  • Leung, B. C., Lau, K., & Henderson, H. (2016). In D. D. Kalaskar, P. E. Butler, & S. Ghali (Eds.), Textbook of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (pp. 374-386). Retrieved from https://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctt1g69xq0
• Ophthalmic Operating Theatre Practice: A Manual for Lower-Resource Settings, 2nd ed. (Cybersight)
  • Machin, H. (2016). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/ophthalmic-operating-theatre-practice-a-manual-for-lower-resource-settings/
• Refractive Surgery: Types of Procedures, Risks, and Benefits (IntechOpen)
  • Bohač, M., & Jagić, M. (Eds.). (2022). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/97230
• Surgical Ophthalmic Oncology (Springer)
  • Chaugule, S. S., Honavar, S. G., & Finger, P. T. (2019). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/60297
• Vision Correction and Eye Surgery (IntechOpen)
  • Lo Giudice, G. (Ed.). (2022). Retrieved from https://directory.doabooks.org/handle/20.500.12854/90330

Back to Contents

• Visual Dysfunction in Patients with Traumatic Brain Injury: A Systemic Review (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • O'Neil, M., Gleitsmann, K., Motu'apuaka, M., et al. (2014). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK293882/

Back to Contents