LibGuides: Newspapers (Primary Sources): Home

General

Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access World News features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. In addition to the news articles, the database offers Special Reports,
Hot Topics, and Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans.
Full-page images of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch began in January 2020.
Videos and Help: https://www.newsbank.com/videos?qt-video_gallery_tabs=1#qt-video_gallery_tabs
TLS (Times Literary Supplement) (2010-) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Begun in 1902, TLS has become the world’s leading journal for literature and ideas. Every week, they publish book reviews, book extracts, essays and poems from leading writers and cover a broad range of subjects, from anthropology to zoology, philosophy to politics, comedy to psychology. It is the only major English-language publication to review books published in other languages, including French, Spanish, German, Italian and Russian. Issued weekly, TLS also reviews the latest in fiction, film, opera, theatre, dance, radio and television.
For earlier issues, see The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2019)

British Newspapers

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 covers a wide range of subject areas in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries making it an invaluable resource for multi-disciplinary research. It was the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, marking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science) with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace.
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929 under its director-general, Lord Reith. It was developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks, initially on radio, but in later years television as well, and was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine Radio Times. The Listener is one of the few records and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. In addition to commenting on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, the Listener also previewed major literary and musical shows and regularly reviewed new books.
Sunday Times Historical Archive (1822-2016) This link opens in a new window
The Sunday Times newspaper (London), was for most of its life, separate from the Times. The paper is well known for its news analysis, investigative journalism, and coverage of political & cultural topics.
Times Digital Archive (1785-2019) This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. Also see the Sunday Times Historical Archive and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

American Newspapers

Accessible Archives (African American Newspapers and other historical resources) This link opens in a new window
A selection of nineteenth and twentieth century African American Newspapers plus several Freely Available/Open Access resources. See below for a list of titles included.
African American Newspapers: Douglass' Monthly; Frederick Douglass' paper; Freedom's journal; North Star; The Christian recorder; The Colored American; The Freedmen's Record (The Freedmen's Journal); The national era; The Negro Business League Herald; The provincial freeman; Weekly Advocate (New York, NY).

Books: History of Woman Suffrage (Seltzer Books, 1887); Reconstruction of Southern States (Various documents); Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman (Charles River Editors, 1869); Twelve Years a Slave: Narrative of Solomon Northup, a Citizen of New-York, Kidnapped In Washington City In 1841, and Rescued In 1853, from a Cotton Plantation Near the Red River, In Louisiana. (C. M. Saxton, 1859).

Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue: Chester & Delaware Federalist; Eden Star; Literary Magazine; The American Republican; Village Record; Westchester Gazette.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Record: Chester County Republican; Delaware County American; Delaware County Democrat; Delaware County Republican; Media Advertiser; The Post Boy; The Upland Union; The Weekly Visitor.

** Note: This resource will be moving to a new platform, Coherent Digital: History Commons, in mid-2024. **
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
Black Life In America (Series 3: 1976-Today) This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Updated daily with new content, Series 3 is essential for navigating the arc of African American history from 1976 through the present day. Part of the Access World News package from NewsBank.
Hispanic Life in America (Series 3: 2010-Today) This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Updated daily with new content, Series 3 is essential for navigating the arc of Hispanic American history from 2010 through the present day. Part of the Access World News package from NewsBank.
New York Times - Online Subscriptions for UMSL Students, Faculty & Staff This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Libraries offer subscriptions to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and St. Louis Business Journal for all students, faculty and staff. Individual accounts are required. Click this link for more information on how to sign up.
New York Times with Index‎, 1851 - 4 years ago (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1851 - four years ago. Full indexing: 1851-1993. Provided through the generosity of an anonymous Mercantile Library donor with deepest gratitude from the UMSL University Libraries.
St. Louis Business Journal (Individual account required) This link opens in a new window
The Libraries offer subscriptions to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and St. Louis Business Journal for all students, faculty and staff. Individual accounts are required. Click this link for more information on how to sign up.
REQUIRED: Use an email address with @umsl.edu or @mail.umsl.edu.
UMSL--Students, Faculty and Staff have full access to the St. Louis Business Journal including:
- St. Louis Business Journal Weekly Edition
- Books of Lists
- Local Search Archives
- Back Issues from the past six years
- Business Journal Training Video (4 min.) How to sign up and navigate the site.
St. Louis Post Dispatch‎, 1874 - 2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full page images and text. Provided through the generosity of an anonymous Mercantile Library donor with deepest gratitude from the UMSL University Libraries.
SEARCHING TIP: Use Advanced Search. On the second line, enter your search term and select in "Document text - FT"
Wall Street Journal - Online Subscriptions for UMSL Students, Faculty & Staff This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Libraries offer subscriptions to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and St. Louis Business Journal for all students, faculty and staff. Individual accounts are required. Click this link for more information on how to sign up. Access to articles more than a few years old is limited.

Print and Microfilm

The University Libraries also has a selection of newpapers in print and microfilm. Use Discover@UMSL to locate both online and print resources.

The St. Louis Mercantile Library has clippings from the St. Louis Globe and the St. Louis Post Dispatch. However, much of this is still being processed. Please contact the Mercantile for more information: https://www.umsl.edu/mercantile/research/index.html

Researchers may also wish to contact the local office of the State Historical Society for additional resources.