Skip to Main Content

LGBTQ+ Studies

An introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies resources at UMSL Libraries and on the web.

Finding Articles. White text on red background

Discover@UMSL

The library's main search tool for books, articles, and more. This tool is an excellent place to begin your research because it searches across UMSL's materials AND multiple online databases at the same time.

 

Option 1: Keyword SearchText: Guide to Discover@UMSL. Next to yellow mouse icon and above red and yellow search bar.

  1. Type in your search terms
  2. Click "Search"
  3. Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.

Option 2: Title or Author Search

  1. Type the title or author's name into the search bar
  2. Select either "Title" or "Author" from the drop-down menu to the right of the search bar
  3. Click "Search"
  4. Under "Limit By Source Type" (on the left side of the screen), select Academic Journals.

Option 3: Advanced Search

  1. Select the Advanced Search option (underneath the Search Bar)
  2. Use the search bar(s) to type in your terms
  3. In the Select a Field drop-down menus, select what type of search you would like to run.
    • Useful options for article searches include Title, Author, Abstract, Subject Terms, or Journal Title
  4. Adjust other limiters if needed
  5. Click "Search"

Databases

You have access to scholarly research and other resources provided through online databases that UMSL subscribes to every year. These databases allow you to search resources in your subject area in a more advanced, targeted way.

We subscribe to multiple databases that offer resources related to language, literature, culture, etc., including LGTBQ+/Gender Studies.

We've offered some recommendations below! You can also visit our complete list of databases. Contact the library for assistance with accessing or navigating any of UMSL's databases.

Articles in Google Scholar

Some articles and other resources you can find with Google Scholar are available on the web for free. Look to the right side of the search result for a link to access the article.

Others are hidden behind a paywall. Do not pay to access articles you find on Google Scholar. They may be available at UMSL, or you can request them at no cost through interlibrary loan.

Connecting Google Scholar to UMSL Libraries

You can make your research process smoother by configuring Google Scholar to provide a link that allows you to access articles directly through your home library. Your browser may automatically recognize you as an UMSL affiliate, but if not, you can set up the connection manually:

  1. Visit the main Google Scholar webpage
  2. Click on the three horizontal lines in the upper left corner
  3. Select Settings
  4. Select Library Links
  5. Type "University of Missouri-St. Louis" into the search bar and click the magnifying glass.
  6. Select University of Missouri - St. Louis - Full-Text @ UMSL
  7. Click Save

Now, you should see the Full-Text @ UMSL link to the right side of any Google Scholar search results that you can access via UMSL Libraries. You may still need to provide your UMSL SSO and password.