A subset of the Library of Congress Digital Collections, Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Specializing in Missouri newspapers, the collection Includes print, microfilm, and some online newspapers. A limited number of titles have been indexed. Follow the link for a full list of titles, dates, and formats offered. If a paper is not available digitally, it is often possible to obtain microfilm via Interlibrary Loan.
Access World News features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. In addition to the news articles, the database offers Special Reports,
Hot Topics, and Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans.
Full-page images of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch began in January 2020.
Online exhibitions from the National Museum of the American Indian covering a variety of topics, including US-Native nation treaties, dance, Native veterans, and more.
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is available to the UMSL community because the St. Louis Mercantile Library contributed material for the collection.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life.
The collection includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Early periodicals in the collection focus on colonial life and the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers leading up to the American Revolution. Common themes depicted in antebellum periodicals reveal a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, western expansion, and regional political differences were a daily reality for many Americans. The Civil War and Reconstruction eras are well represented, documenting the conflict and its aftermath from a variety of perspectives and allowing readers to bear witness to this pivotal period in American history. Early twentieth century titles document the second Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students. For more information, see this list of Archives Unbound collections.
Search and explore more than 18,000 digitized historical photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA). This dynamic web-based finding aid provides digital access to a rich collection of archived photographs of Native American communities, discoverable by Tribal Nation, topic, or state. These photographs were taken over many decades and provide important documentation of Native American communities and culture, covering a wide variety of topics and activities. Among the records are portraits of individuals and families, and images of work, military service, crafts, medical care, and athletics, among others.
The Library of Congress Digital Collections is a repository of digital images, historic newspapers, early audio recordings, manuscripts, motion pictures and books, as well as "born digital" materials, such as selected Web sites.
The National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge, includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will increase regularly.
Through the Missouri Digital Heritage Initiative, the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library, and the State Historical Society of Missouri, are working with institutions across the state to digitize their records. Included are historic newspapers, documents, art, photographs, maps and other materials.
Primarily focused on Missouri history, biography, and genealogy, the reference collection includes books, oral histories, pamphlets, manuscript collections, maps, newspapers on microfilm, and official state publications. Only some of the material is available online.
