LibGuides: Finance &amp; Legal Studies: Finance &amp; Legal Studies

UMSL Departments

Additional information and resources:

Finance Databases & Resources

Capital IQ NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes data and analysis for industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and indexes. NetAdvantage contains the following Standard & Poor's publications: Bond Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Industry Surveys, and Stock Reports.
Some people have reported difficulties accessing from off-campus. Things to try if you have problems:
- Use the campus VPN (click the "V" icon for details)
- Access Capital IQ NetAdvantage in your browser's Incognito or Private mode
- Clear your cookies and cache
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mergent Archives contains a vast, indexed collection of historical corporate and industry related documents.
Content includes:
- Key Business Ratios (the D&B Industry Norms and key Business Ratios) -- archives, dating back to 1979 up to two years ago
- Million Dollar Directory (D&B) -- archives, dating from 1959, but not all years available (up through *part* of 2011)
- Hoovers (varying issues)
  - Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
  - Hoover's Handbook of World Business
  - Hoover's MasterList of U.S. Companies
  - Hoover's Handbook of American Business
  - Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies
- Industrial Manual-1920-Present.
- Public Utility Manual-1914-Present.
- OTC Industrial Manual-1970-Present.
- OTC Unlisted Manual-1986-Present.
- Transportation Manual-1909-Present.
- International Manual-1981-Present.
- Bank and Finance Manual-1928-Present.
The Municipal and Government manuals are currently not available at UMSL online, but are available on microfiche through 2007 at UMSL TJ MICRO LEVEL 5 HG4931 .M58.
For more current information, see the Mergent Intellect and Mergent Online databases.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Intellect includes the following types of data:
- North American Database
- Global Database
- Key Business Ratios (also see the Mergent Archive database for older editions)
- Industry Database with access to over 900 industry segments via First Research
- Job Search Solution Database
- Residential / Local Business Database with over 200 million residents and 30 million businesses
- Executive Database with over 90 million executives details including contact and biographies
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes. Mergent Online also offers Industry Analysis reports (Industry Analysis --> Search by Industry).
UMSL's subscription to Mergent Online includes the following products:
- US Active and Inactive Data
- International Active and Inactive Data
- Expanded Long Term Debt
- US and International Earnings Estimates
- Executive Biographies Basic and Plus
- Institutional and Insider Holdings
- D&B Private Company Data
- As Reported All Years, Standardized All Years, Transparency All Years
- US Equity and International Equity Pricing
- Unadjusted Pricing
- SEC Filings, SEDAR Filings
- North American and International Annual Reports
- Industry Reports (NA), (AP), (EU), (LA)
- News
- Competitors
- Equity Reports, Equity Reports Integrated Search
- Mergent Reports, Report Builder, Custom Report, Report Wizard, Comparison Report
- Risk Analysis, Net Basis
- Bond Search
- Ratio All Years, Restated All Years
- Factsheets Plus, International and Express
- Equity Portraits
- Bond Portraits (D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Database, D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree)
Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, stocks from the NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq & OTC exchanges. Users can access reports & videos, screen funds & stocks by various criteria, and analyze markets & portfolio. An Investing Classroom also offers brief sessions on various financial topics such as saving for retirement, how investing works, and much more.
If your session times out for inactivity and you're asked to log in, you will need to start a new session from this Database list link (there is no username and password for UMSL users).

Legal Resources

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic offers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels. The database covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The package also includes the U.S. Congressional Serial Set and features more than 100 million pages of content across more than 100 subject areas.
FastCase, a separate database, is more technical, but offers a few additional materials (such as statutes) if you cannot find what you need in HeinOnline.
CaseLaw Access Project This link opens in a new window
The goal of the Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) is to expand public access to U.S. law and "to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law School Library."
This collection may be useful in conjunction with our main legal database: HeinOnline Academic

Books

Principles of Business: Finance by Richard Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781682173282
Publication Date: 2017-03-30
Provides students and researchers with easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of the field. The study of business touches virtually all aspects of modern society. Students and researchers who have a solid understanding of the fundamentals of business have an increased advantage when applying for a job, furthering their education, or looking to start a business on their own. Principles of Business: Finance offers over 100 easy-to-understand entries covering the broad field of finance. Entries include detailed coverage of: Business Forecasting Business in Emerging Markets Cash Flow Debt Valuation Exchange Rate Financial Derivatives Globalization Issues in International Banking Principles of Risk Management Real Estate Bubble Stock Markets Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2010 Urban Fiscal Policy Venture Capital and much more . This new resource is a helpful tool for students and researchers who are just beginning their study of finance and need a solid background of the key terms and elements in the field. A must for all high school and undergraduate science programs.
UMSL Finance Books
Search for Marketing in the Library of Congress subject headings

Internet Finance Resources

These resources are not provided by or endorsed by UMSL but you may find them helpful in your projects.

Alpha Vantage
Stock APIs in JSON, Excel & Google Sheets; Forex and cryptocurrency data feeds; 50+ technical indicators; Global coverage
Note: If you are from a college or university and would like to use our data for academic purposes (e.g., research, teaching, etc), please reach out to support@alphavantage.co for academic data inquiries.
Google Finance
Quotes for stocks, ETFs, etc., charts, breaking market news and trends

Finance & Legal Studies

Ask Us!

Business & Related Guides

Librarian

UMSL Departments

Finance Databases & Resources

Legal Resources

Books

Internet Finance Resources