Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology

UMSL Library Guide for Anthropology

Library databases of use to Anthropology

Online Reference Books through the UMSL Libraries

The resources below are online books that the UMSL Libraries purchased. UMSL students, faculty and staff can easily access these resources with their SSO IDs and passwords. These are items that are not freely available on the Web (which is why they are password protected).

The links below will take one to the UMSL library catalog. From there, the records will contain links to the online books. The links might appear like: UMSL access via EBSCO eBooks or UMSL access via ProQuest Ebook Central or simply UMSL Access.

. Please get in touch with the library should you have trouble accessing any of the items below.


  1. Handbook of methods in cultural anthropology / edited by H. Russell Bernard and Clarence C. Gravlee. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, [2015] 2nd ed.

  2. A companion to sport and spectacle in Greek and Roman antiquity / edited by Paul Christesen and Donald G. Kyle. Chichester, West Sussex, UK : Wiley Blackwell, 2014.

  3. A companion to urban anthropology / edited by Donald M. Nonini. Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2014.

  4. A companion to sport / edited by David L. Andrews and Ben Carrington. Chichester, West Sussex : Wiley Blackwell, 2013, 1st edition.

  5. Theory in social and cultural anthropology : an encyclopedia / editors, R. Jon McGee, Richard L. Warms, Texas State University. Thousand Oaks, California : Sage Publications, Inc., [2013].

  6. A companion to forensic anthropology / edited by Dennis Dirkmaat. Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, ©2012.

  7. Concise dictionary of social and cultural anthropology / Mike Morris. Malden, Mass. ; Oxford : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012, 1st ed.

  8. How to get in anthropology : a guide for students and young professionals / edited by Jason E. Miller and Oona Schmid. Lanham : AltaMira Press, c2012.

  9. Food cultures of the world encyclopedia / Ken Albala, editor. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2011.

  10. Research Methods in Anthropology / Bernard, H. Russell. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Pub. Group, 2011, 5th edition.

  11. A companion to cognitive anthropology / edited by David B. Kronenfeld [and others]. Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.

  12. A companion to medical anthropology / edited by Merrill Singer and Pamela I. Erickson. Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.

  13. A companion to the anthropology of education / edited by Bradley A.U. Levinson and Mica Pollock. Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.

  14. 21st century anthropology : a reference handbook / editor, H. James Birx. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, ©2010.

  15. A companion to biological anthropology / edited by Clark Spencer Larsen. Malden, Mass. : Wiley-Blackwell, ©2010.

  16. A companion to ancient history / edited by Andrew Erskine. Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, ©2009.

  17. Anthropology : a student's guide to theory and method / Stanley R. Barrett. Toronto [Ont.] : University of Toronto Press, ©2009 (Saint-Lazare, Quebec : Canadian Electronic Library, 2010) 2nd ed.

  18. Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life / Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby, editors. Detroit, Mich. : Gale, 2009, 2nd ed.

  19. A companion to Latin American anthropology / edited by Deborah Poole. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub. , ©2008.

  20. The Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through American history 1900 to the present / Amy T. Peterson, general editor [v. 1], Ann T. Kellogg, general editor [v. 2]. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008.

  21. Handbook of archaeological theories / edited by R. Alexander Bentley, Herbert D. G. Maschner, and Christopher Chippindale. Lanham, MD : AltaMira Press, ©2008.

  22. A companion to the anthropology of Japan / edited by Jennifer Robertson. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.

  23. Encyclopedia of anthropology / H. James Birx, editor. Thousand Oaks, California : Sage, 2006.

  24. A companion to the anthropology of American Indians / edited by Thomas Biolsi. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2004.

  25. Encyclopedia of race and ethnic studies / Ellis Cashmore. London ; New York : Routledge, 2004.

Print Reference Books at the UMSL Libraries

The resources below are print items at the Thomas Jefferson Library. With the exception of the items listed as LIB USE ONLY, the other items can be checked out.

 

Title Location Call #
Biographical dictionary of social and cultural anthropology / edited by Vered Amit. London ; New York : Routledge, 2004. TJ Level 4  GN20 .B56 2004
A companion to moral anthropology / edited by Didier Fassin. Hoboken, New Jersey : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012. TJ Ref Level 3 GN27 .C647 2012 LIB USE ONLY
Ethnographic methods / Karen O'Reilly. London ; New York : Routledge, 2012. 2nd ed. TJ Level 4 GN345 .O72 2012
Writing ethnographic fieldnotes / Robert M. Emerson, Rachel I. Fretz, Linda L. Shaw. Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2011. 2nd ed. TJ Level 4 GN307.7 .E44 2011
Cross-cultural analysis : methods and applications / edited by Eldad Davidov, Peter Schmidt, Jaak Billiet. New York : Routledge, ©2011. TJ Level 4 GN345.7 .C728 2011
The anthropology graduate's guide : from student to a career / Carol J. Ellick, Joe E. Watkins. Walnut Creek, Calif. : Left Coast Press, ©2011. TJ Level 4 GN41.8 .E55 2011
Ethnography essentials : designing, conducting, and presenting your research / Julian M. Murchison. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, ©2010. TJ Level 4 GN345 .M87 2010
Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010. TJ Ref Level 3 GT507 .E54 2010 LIB USE ONLY
Designing an anthropology career : professional development exercises / Sherylyn H. Briller and Amy Goldmacher. Lanham : AltaMira Press, ©2009. TJ Level 4 GN41.8 .B75 2009
Encyclopedia of the world's minorities / Carl Skutsch, editor ; Martin Ryle, consulting editor. New York : Routledge, 2005. TJ Ref Level 3 GN495.4 .E63 2005 LIB USE ONLY

Anthropology Open Educational Resources OER