LibGuides: Criminology & Criminal Justice: Resources

Recommended Resources

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Prepared in co-operation with the Criminal Justice Collection of Rutgers University Library, Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. Major areas of coverage include: Behavioral Science, Economic & Political Sciences, Education, Law, Psychology, Social Work, and Substance Abuse.
NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 210,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
NCJRS Publications / Products This link opens in a new window
NCJRS Publications / Products lists more than 3,500 full-text publications from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.
Journal Collections
Arts & Sciences I – XV
Life Sciences
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Public Health
Lives of Literature

Reports & Research
Security Studies
Sustainability

Primary Sources
19th Century British Pamphlets (Bristol Selected Pamphlets, Cowen Tracts, Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection, Hume Tracts, Knowsley Pamphlet Collection, LSE Selected Pamphlets, Manchester Selected Pamphlets, Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection)
World Heritage Sites: Africa (Reference)
Struggle for Freedom: Southern Africa (Reference)
Global Plants (Reference)
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's primary publishing platform for journals and books. Access to the Freedom Collection ended January 1, 2021. However, we subscribe to many individual journals. Please use Interlibrary Loan for items UMSL does not subscribe to.

St. Louis City Crime Information
View crime statistics by St. Louis neighborhood.
Capitol Police Activity Reports
Search for reports by year from 2011 to 2016 from the division that patrols the state Capitol and other state buildings in Jefferson City.
Missouri Police and Sheriff Contacts
View contact information for local police or sheriff office.
Vehicle Stops Report
From the web site: "Missouri’s state law requires that all peace officers in the state report specific information including a driver’s race for each vehicle stop made in the state. Law enforcement agencies are required to turn in the data to the Attorney General, and the Attorney General is required to compile the data and report to the Governor." This database covers stops made from 2000 to 2016 by county.
Missouri State Highway Patrol Online Arrest Reports
Search arrest reports from the last five days. This site is hosted and maintained by the State Highway Patrol; reports are unofficial.
Missouri State Highway Patrol Traffic Crash Reports
Reports are preliminary information relating to motor vehicle crashes investigated by the State Highway Patrol. (Crashes investigated by agencies outside the MO State Highway Patrol are not included.) They are posted here automatically and remain online for 29 days. This site is hosted and maintained by the State Highway Patrol; reports are unofficial.

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with the difficult and important topic of Gun Regulation and Legislation in America. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
* Most material is free. Scholarly law journals are not included in this specific database - search for them in other parts of HeinOnline or in the journal portal.
ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Quick and easy access to current and historical census data, demographic information, election data and marketing profile data. Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
User Guide
Examples from Business, Criminal Justice, Education, Political Science, History, Health, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology & more.
data.census.gov (U.S. Census) This link opens in a new window
data.census.gov provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic data gathered by the United States Census Bureau. It provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data is drawn from several censuses and surveys. Older City & County Data Books (2007 and earlier)