Litmag is a student-run literary magazine published annually each spring through the English Department. The purpose is to promote the creative work of students and staff and increase awareness of the ever-present literary talent on UMSL’s campus. It aims to produce a high quality journal that gives emerging writers and artists a venue to display their work and experience the world of professional publishing.
Natural Bridge, a journal of contemporary literature, began publishing fiction, poetry, nonfiction, and works in translation by award winning writers just prior to the new millennium, and its national and international subscriptions, and thus its reach, have grown yearly. Each issue contains approximately four new stories, twenty-five new poems, and two essays, all of which are selected from unsolicited submissions sent from writers throughout the world. Natural Bridge accepts work year round, the editors and assistant editors sifting through approximately 1200 submissions each year. New, emerging, and mid-career writers whose work has been published in Natural Bridge have been anthologized and have gone on to win The Flannery O’Connor, the Drue Heinz, the John Ciardi prizes, and more. Additionally, we publish a special feature, a three part interview with an emerging writer, her publisher, and a reader which explores the aesthetic and literary connection between the three.
Arts & Letters Daily is a web portal which links to a diverse array of news stories, features and reviews from across the humanities, each introduced with a short blurb or teaser. The site is owned by The Chronicle of Higher Education.
Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. The full text of each volume of poetry is being converted into digital form and coded in Standard Generalized Mark-up Language (SGML) using the TEI Guidelines, with various forms of access provided through the WWW. In recognition of the effort involved in selecting, editing, encoding, and maintaining online the works included in the archive, we expect all users to abide by the conditions of use.
The Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers. The result of a partnership between the New York Public Library and the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities, in cooperation with Oxford’s Bodleian Library, the S-GA also includes key contributions from the Huntington Library, the British Library, the Houghton Library, and the Victoria and Albert Museum. In total, these partner libraries contain over 90% of all known relevant manuscripts.
Understanding Shakespeare is a collaborative project between JSTOR Labs and the Folger Shakespeare Library . It’s a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of Shakespeare’s plays to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about them—line by line. Users simply click next to any line of text in a play and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.
Publisher's description: "The definitive reference on literature in English, this handbook provides an alphabetical listing of more than 2,000 important terms and facts in literature, linguistics, rhetoric, criticism, printing, bookselling, and information technology."
Publisher's description: "The Continuum Encyclopedia of Modern Criticism and Theory offers the student and scholar of literary and cultural studies the most comprehensive, single volume guide to the history and development of modern criticism in the humanities. In a clearly organized format, this major reference work takes the reader through introductions to historically influential philosophers, literary critics, schools of thought and movements from Spinoza and Descartes to Phenomenology and Heidegger, before turning to its three principal areas of critical attention: Europe, North America and Great Britain."
Publisher's description: "The Bedford Glossary is a comprehensive reference that clearly and accessibly defines hundreds of important literary and critical terms from classical times to the present, making them real and relevant to twenty-first century students through examples uniquely drawn from contemporary literary and popular culture."
Publisher's description: "...[C]ontains a complete glossary of essential literary terms presented as a series of...essays that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading...[C]overs terms useful in discussing literature and literary history, theory, and criticism."
Publisher's description: "[T]he Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also examines developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism."