Skip to Main Content

Economics

A guide to library resources for Economics

Economics Databases

  • Academic Search Complete

    Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

  • Agricola (via National Agriculture Library's Web Gateway)
    Covers major agricultural subjects, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources.
  • British Association for the Advancement of Science – Collections on the History of Science (1830s-1970s)

    The Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, and connected collections from UK universities, covers astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM, and government grants for scientific research. It contains administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, clippings, personal papers, gray literature - all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.

  • Business Source Complete
    Best Bet

    Business Source Complete provides full text for thousands of journals, including both peer-reviewed, academic journals and trade business publications. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. To find case studies, enter search terms (examples: "restaurant" or "advertising") in the usual boxes, then under "Document type," choose "Case Study."

  • Capital IQ NetAdvantage
    Includes data and analysis for industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and indexes. NetAdvantage contains the following Standard & Poor's publications: Bond Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Industry Surveys, and Stock Reports.
  • data.census.gov (U.S. Census)
    data.census.gov provides access to population, housing, economic and geographic data gathered by the United States Census Bureau. It provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data is drawn from several censuses and surveys. Older City & County Data Books (2007 and earlier)
  • EconBiz
    EconBiz is a subject portal for economics and business studies. It offers a literature search across important German and international databases, including the holdings of ZBW, and access to free and licensed full texts on the internet.
  • EconLit (American Economic Association)
    Best Bet
    EconLit covers economics publications as far back as 1886, including peer-reviewed journal articles, working papers from leading universities, PhD dissertations, books, collective volume articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews. All these are indexed, classified, and linkable to full-text library holdings.
  • EDGAR
    Contains disclosure documents with financial and other information filed by companies & investment funds as required by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
  • FRASER (St. Louis Federal Reserve) Best Bet
    FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
  • FRED (Economic Data | St. Louis Federal Reserve) Best Bet
    The widely used FRED® data service is updated daily and allows 24/7 access to over 500,000 financial and economic data series from more than 85 public and proprietary sources.
  • Geocoding System: Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council Best Bet
    Designed for use with the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act and the Community Reinvestment Act, with this site you can enter a street address and retrieve information for the census tract in which the site is located. Median family income, population, number of housing units, and ethnicity for the tract are examples of data available. Note: Due to differing update schedules, this data may not be identical to data retrieved directly from the census.gov site.
  • GreenFILE

    GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations & local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.

  • HeinOnline Academic
    Best Bet
    HeinOnline Academic offers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels. The database covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The package also includes the U.S. Congressional Serial Set and features more than 100 million pages of content across more than 100 subject areas.
    FastCase, a separate database, is more technical, but offers a few additional materials (such as statutes) if you cannot find what you need in HeinOnline.
  • History of Economic Thought Best Bet
    The resource covers the history of economic thought over the period 1700–1914 and contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on key themes.
  • JSTOR

    JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. They also have some primary resource collections. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or other individual databases.

  • Mergent Archives
    Mergent Archives contains a vast, indexed collection of historical corporate and industry related documents.
  • Mergent Intellect
    Worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
  • Mergent Online
    Find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes. Mergent Online also offers Industry Analysis reports (Industry Analysis --> Search by Industry).
  • Morningstar Investing Center
    Information on mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, stocks from the NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq & OTC exchanges. Users can access reports & videos, screen funds & stocks by various criteria, and analyze markets & portfolio. An Investing Classroom also offers brief sessions on various financial topics such as saving for retirement, how investing works, and much more.
  • National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
    Digital collections from a branch of the United States Department of Agriculture
  • National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
    The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.
  • NBER Working Papers

    Working papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research

  • North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
    The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The Department of Labor has a listing of SIC codes.
  • OECD Publications and Data Best Bet

    The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) features its books, papers, podcasts and statistics and it forms the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.  

  • ProCon.org
    ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.
  • Salem Press
    Salem Press includes references, books, and primary sources in the areas of Literature, History, Science, Health, Education, Business, Economics, Counseling/Social Work, and more. You can search all of UMSL's titles at once, search only selected titles using the Advanced Search, or browse the Subject Index.
  • Scopus
    Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It is useful for analyzing publication topics, finding researchers, and obtaining counts of cited materials.
  • Social Explorer
    Quick and easy access to current and historical census data, demographic information, election data and marketing profile data. Create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
    User Guide
    Examples from Business, Criminal Justice, Education, Political Science, History, Health, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology & more.
  • SSRN
    SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out into other science disciplines. Most, but not all papers are free.
  • St. Louis Business Journal (Registration for Individual account)
    • Account required (see description)
    Best Bet
    The Libraries offers a subscription to the St. Louis Business Journal (students, faculty and staff only). Individual accounts are required. Click this link for more information on how to sign up.
    REQUIRED: Use an email address with @umsl.edu or @mail.umsl.edu.
  • St. Louis Regional Data Exchange (RDX) Best Bet
    The St. Louis Regional Data Exchange (RDX) is a unified open data portal for the St. Louis Region. On this site, you will find publicly available data from all over the St. Louis area, compiled and documented by the St. Louis Regional Data Alliance. Our vision for the RDX is to be a one-stop-shop for public community data in St. Louis, helping people find data on local government and nonprofit websites — or uploaded onto the RDX directly.
View More Results