Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding full-text articles

Describes what full-text links or information within Summon or library databases mean

Introduction

Finding Full Text Articles at UMSL Libraries

This guide will help you locate the full text of journal and newspaper articles.  You will find instructions for locating the full text of articles located in:

  • Summon
  • Online library databases
  • Elsewhere on the web

You will also find guidance on locating the full text of articles to which the library does not have access.

Questions?  Please contact the library for help!

Articles in Summon

When you find an article record in Summon, it may say either:

 
Full Text Online

You can access the entire text of this article online.  First, click the Full Text Online link.  Then, you may see one of the following options:

  • The full text of the article.
  • A blue button that says "Full Text Online."  Clicking this link will take you to either:
    • The full text of the article.
    • The database where you can find the article.  If you do not immediately see a way to access the full text (e.g., a PDF Full Text link), try copying and pasting the title into the search bar.
  • A blue button that says "Browse Journal."  Get the article information from the record (Volume #, Issue #, and Page #).  Click the "Browse Journal" link to get to the journal site, then use the volume, issue, and page # to navigate to the right article.
 
Citation Online

We only have access to brief information about this article online, such as the title, author(s), journal name, abstract, etc.  There are two options here:

  • If we haven this article in print:
    • Copy down the journal's name and call # as well as the volume, issue, and page numbers for the article.  Most are on Level 5 of Thomas Jefferson Library.
  • If we do not have the article in print: 
    • You will need to request it from another library at no additional cost.  Follow the blue "Request from Interlibrary Loan" link or follow the ILL instructions on this page.

Finding Articles from a Citation

If you are starting out with just a citation, try the following approach: