Skip to Main Content

French Studies

An introduction to UMSL Libraries resources related to French studies.

 

Finding Articles in Summon heading

Search Summon for articles, books, and more!
 

 

 

 

What is Summon? (Summon FAQs)

Summon searches the library's print and online materials AND most content from our online databases.  It is helpful to use when you are just starting out with your research, you don't know which database to look in, or you already know which resource you're looking for.

Some articles we have access to will not show up in Summon. For advanced research, we recommend also exploring our subscription databases (see below for some suggestions).


How do I find articles in Summon?
  1. Type your topic into the search bar and click "Search."
  2. Look on the left side of the page for the heading CONTENT TYPE.
  3. Select "Journal Articles," "Newspaper Articles," or "Magazine Articles" from the list.

How do I find non-English articles?
  1. Type your topic into the search bar and click "Search."
  2. Look on the left side of the page for the heading LANGUAGE.
  3. Click ^ to view the full list and select one or more languages.
  4. Hover over the English option and click "X Exclude" to remove most English results (optional).

*Tip: It can be helpful to use search terms in your target language.

Finding Articles in Databases heading

The Library provides access to online databases through which you can access a variety of materials, including journal and newspaper articles.

Below, you will find a short list of suggestions for databases to find materials in French or about French and Francophone history/culture/etc.. This list is offered as a starting point; for a complete list of UMSL's databases, please visit our A-Z Database List.

Each database works slightly differently. Visit the Search Tips box (see left on desktop or tablet) for general advice. For help with a specific database, please contact the library.