Explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.'
Recently, Native scholars have started to reclaim research through the development of their own research methodologies and paradigms that are based in tribal knowledge systems and values, and that allow inherent Indigenous knowledge and lived experiences to strengthen the research. This book highlights the current scholarship emerging from these scholars of higher education.
Offers a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada.
Follows the history of efforts to preserve and recover the civil rights of American Indians in the United States. The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement examines such matters as the political struggle over treaty obligations, religious freedom, and the political sovereignty of reservations.
Contains 25 original essays by leading experts in Native American history. Covers the breadth of American Indian history, including contacts with settlers, religion, family, economy, law, education, gender issues, and culture.
A comprehensive introduction to the history, structure, and function of tribal governments, their relationship to contemporary American politics, and the rights of individual Indians who are often caught in between these frequently contentious sovereigns.
A comprehensive survey of the complex indigenous religions of the Americas, both North and South, as they were in the past and as they still exist in some societies.
Includes detailed descriptions of nearly two dozen Native American Nations' legal and political systems such as the Iroquois, Cherokee, Choctaw, Navajo, Cheyenne, Creek, Chickasaw, Comanche, Sioux, Pueblo, Mandan, Wyandot, Powhatan, Mikmaq, and Yakima. Although not an Indian law casebook, this work does contain outlines of many major Indian law cases, congressional acts, and treaties. It also contains profiles of individuals important to the evolution of Indian law.
JSTOR contains articles and books, usually at least 3-5 years old, from scholarly sources. For more recent material, use Discover@UMSL or another individual databases.
** In response to the COVID pandemic JSTOR granted free access to an extended list of journals until June 30, 2023. **
UMSL has access to the following JSTOR Collections:
Arts & Sciences I (economics, history, political science, sociology, ecology, mathematics, and statistics)
Arts & Sciences II (additional journals for many of the disciplines in Arts & Sciences I, plus journals in several additional disciplines: archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies)
Arts & Sciences III i(languages and literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, feminist & women's studies, and the history & study of art and architecture)
Arts & Sciences IV (business, education, and law, psychology, public policy and administration)
Health & General Sciences (historical scientific journals, health sciences)
Books at JSTOR (50,000+ titles)
Early Journal Content (journals published in the United States before 1923 and published in other countries before 1870)
Researchers and students may also be interested in JSTOR's Data for Research beta site, a free, self-service tool that allows computer scientists, digital humanists, and other researchers to select and interact with JSTOR content. The Data for Research site contains a set of web-based tools, including:
a powerful faceted search interface that can be leveraged to define content of interest through an iterative process of searching and results filtering
word frequencies, citations, key terms, and ngrams utilized for conducting analysis of document-level data
topic modeling (classification of subject headings at the article level), a powerful tool for content selection and filtering
downloadable datasets containing word frequencies, citations, key terms, or ngrams associated with the content selected
Search and explore more than 18,000 digitized historical photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA). This dynamic web-based finding aid provides digital access to a rich collection of archived photographs of Native American communities, discoverable by Tribal Nation, topic, or state. These photographs were taken over many decades and provide important documentation of Native American communities and culture, covering a wide variety of topics and activities. Among the records are portraits of individuals and families, and images of work, military service, crafts, medical care, and athletics, among others.
HeinOnline. With nearly 3,900 titles and more than 2.3 million total pages dedicated to indigenous American life and law, this library includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. It also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online. Search Tips
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters is available to the UMSL community because the St. Louis Mercantile Library contributed material for the collection.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with several thousand full-text periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
This resource is partially funded by MOREnet, the Missouri Research and Education Network.
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Covers over 3,000 journals and series, books, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
A related database is the MLA Directory of Periodicals which lists advertising, submission and contact information for over 3,700 journals (but does NOT index the contents of these journals).
Project MUSE's Standard Collection provides full-text access to scholarly journal titles, primarily in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
You can look for material in two ways: "Search" to find a particular topic. By default only available content is shown. "Browse" to peruse all book and journal titles and tables of contents abstracted in MUSE. You can also uncheck the option "Only content I have full access to" when viewing your results to find abstracts of additional material.
If an item is not available through Project MUSE, it may be available in other UMSL collections or through Interlibrary Loan. Click the "Find Full-Text" link to check if the Libraries own a journal full text through another source (online or print). If the item is a book, check the UMSL Library Catalog under the book title or book author.
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Abstracting coverage begins in 1984. Full-text coverage begins in 1995.Topics covered include art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more.
Oxford Reference Online contains hundreds of dictionary, language reference, subject reference and companion works published by Oxford University Press.
Note: Only 5 UMSL users can access the Oxford Reference database simultaneously. Please close out of Oxford Reference when you are finished using it. If full text is not available to UMSL through Oxford Reference, check the UMSL & MOBIUS Catalogs and request any unavailable items through UMSL's Interlibrary Loan service.
Biography Reference Center offers a collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. UMSL owns volumes 1 (1978) - 362 (2011). Gale's new interface offers improved navigation and searching options. Training videos are available.
Decolonizing Methodologies by 
Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education by 
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts by 
Indigenous Statistics by 
Handbook of North American Indians by 
The Native American Rights Movement by 
A Companion to American Indian History by 
American Indian Politics and the American Political System by 
The Religions of the American Indians by 
The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition by 
