LibGuides: Children's Books: Finding Children's Books

Purchased & Subscription Ebooks

Children's & Young Adult Fiction [EBSCO]
Use the second and third search boxes to refine your search.
Children's & Young Adult Nonfiction [EBSCO]
Use the second and third search boxes to refine your search.

UMSL subscribes to various collections of ebooks. These collections change. Titles can be removed or added by the providers at any time, but this usually happens twice a year, around the holidays in December/January, and June.
User limits for each book will vary with each book, as will the publisher's restrictions on download & printing options.

Literacy Grant Books

145 ebooks were purchased for the use by UMSL education students. To browse only these books, click on the "Literacy Grant" page at left.
All of these books have a 1 user limit. They are also included in the general EBSCO links.

For more information about UMSL's literacy grant, click here.

Technology & Children

Both the EBSCO collections and the O'Reilly collection have a selection of technology and computer books for children & working with children. Search using terms such as "computers" or "science" along with "children" or "kids".

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) provides access to digital versions of thousands of books:
- UMSL's individually purchased titles
- Subscribed titles (EBSCO may change these, usually in December and July)
- Books with multi-user licenses can be used offline; single user titles cannot.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of topics: computers, programming, hardware, system administration, security, general software, business case studies, accounting, careers, presentations, science, medicine, psychology, math, statistics & data science, travel & hobbies.
Formats include learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, videos, etc.
O'Reilly requires users to log in with their SSO and maintains a record of your progress and recently used items. See below for information on how to make permalinks directly to individual items.
Help: O'Reilly for Higher Education and O'Reilly for Public Libraries

Linking to a book within O'Reilly:
Example URL for Think Python, 3rd Edition: https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/hands-on-machine-learning/9781492032632/
The direct link which will authenticate users for this book would be:
https://go.oreilly.com/university-of-missouri-at-st-louis/library/view/think-python-3rd/9781098155421/

The formula is https://go.oreilly.com/university-of-missouri-at-st-louis/library/view/ plus the bolded section below from the book's URL you see in your browser:
https://learning.oreilly.com/library/view/think-python-3rd/9781098155421/?sso_link=yes&sso_link_from=university-of-missouri-at-st-louis
think-python-3rd/9781098155421/