Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
This collection presents unique insights into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel, spotlighting a distinguished array of historical atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives, and a variety of maps, The materials focus on travel and exploration during the nineteenth century, including myriad sketch maps created during colonial exploration and expansion. Maps, historic atlases, and gazetteers offer unique city, town, and country information first used by the nineteenth century traveler, providing a window into the Age of Imperialism and the burgeoning middle classes. Featuring a multitude of both European and non-European travel narratives, the collection offers a glimpse not only of the lands and peoples these travelers encountered, but also valuable insight into how the Industrial Revolution changed people's experiences in their ever-shrinking world.
This collection supports studies on the evolution of travel and transportation and spans multiple disciplines, providing insight into societal values, interests, colonialism, and exploration.
The Environmental Science and History digital archive focuses on the critical aspects of environmental science, history and anthropogenic change, and includes unique and rare archival collections from multiple global sources such as the Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI), The National Archives, Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew), and the Commonwealth Forestry Archive at Bangor University. Topics covered include agriculture, biodiversity, botany, climate change, deforestation, fisheries, hydrology, irrigation, livestock, water sources, and wetlands. It enables researchers to trace the impacts of human activity on the natural world through documents, images, data, maps, and photographs - all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analysed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives programme.
The New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) focuses on environmental history, pollution, human rights, public health and ethics, and the history of science, STEM and medicine in North America from ~1803 to 2013. It contains manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, surveys, data and ephemera—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
The Royal College of Physicians of London (RCP) covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice from 1205 to 1980. It contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera—all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.
