Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign Languages in UMSL Library Databases

A guide that will give an overview of foreign language availability in various databases that the UMSL Libraries subscribe to.

Recommended

Below is a list of just some databases that are notable for their FL content. They are ranked in rough order of FL access:

Summon: Summon is technically not a database but the default search engine in the center of the UMSL Libraries' homepage. However, Summon  unites library databases in one search engine. Unfortunately, it leaves some material out yet on the whole is outstanding as a search engine. One should first perform a search in Summon and then limit to a desired language on the left, should the language appear as a limit.

JSTOR: Indexes and contains full-text journal articles in mostly major European languages.

Academic Search Complete: Has a lot of full-text articles in many languages from both newspaper, magazine and scholarly sources. However, it also indexes a lot of FL material without providing the full-text.

ABI/INFORM: A database that includes a large variety of languages from sources mostly out of business and related disciplines. Interestingly there are many other issues covered that would appeal to a popular audience, from fashion, celebrities to politics with obvious applications for FL learning.

Art Full Text: As its name implies, this database is mostly concerned with art. It indexes scholarly sources but also trade publications. Its full-text FL content is mostly from major European languages; other languages are indexed and usually not represented in full-text.

Fuente Académica: A database containing many Spanish-language (and some Portuguese) academic journal articles. Also has some popular publications.

CN 11/20/2020