Skip to main content

Citation Searching and Impact Factors in JCR

Resources for finding citation counts in Scopus and Journal Citation Reports.

Introduction

This guide will assist in the preparation of documentation for academic tenure and promotions.

Scopus

Scopus can:

  • Create a bibliography of works that cited the scholar’s work
  • Generate an overview of citations, broken down by year
  • Filter self-citation

You can access the database by clicking on the hyperlinked title (above), or by going to the library homepage (www.umsl.edu/library) and selecting “Databases” - “S”  and then choosing "Scopus."

There are multiple ways of accessing the information. One way is to start by performing an author search:

Within the results, click on the appropriate name to view the author’s information (including number of documents, citations, references, etc) or select multiple (variant) names and click “Show documents”.

To generate an overview of citations by year, select “View Citation Overview”

On the Author information page, you may Exclude self-citation and adjust date ranges within “Overview Options”. Click “Update overview” to refresh the search.

To create a bibliography of works that have cited the scholar: from the Author information page select the number after “Citations” (next to “view citation overview”) –or- from the “Show documents” page select the desired documents, then click “View citations”. You can either check the “All” box at the top or select the titles you prefer.

Note: Bibliographies cannot be created using more than 2,000 titles, do not select the “All” button if the list exceeds this number.

Once you have selected titles for the bibliography, click “Create bibliography”. Scopus lets you choose the format and citation style of the bibliography. After selecting your preferences, click “Create”.

Journal CItation Reports

Journal Citation Reports can:

  • Identify the most frequently cited journals in a field
  • Determine the highest impact journals in a field
  • Identify the largest journals in a field

You can access the database by clicking on the hyperlinked title (above), or by going to the library homepage (www.umsl.edu/library) and selecting “Databases” - “J”  and then "Journal Citation Reports."


Start your search by selecting the Science or Social Science edition. You may leave the “Select an option” on the default to search by subject category. Click the “Submit” button.

On the next screen you may select one or more categories. It is possible to select multiple areas by holding down the “CTRL” key while selecting.

The table provided can be saved and converted into an Excel spreadsheet for easier viewing by following these steps:

  1. Select the “Mark All” box to choose all titles (just above list).
  2. Select “Marked List” box (at top left of page).
  3. Select “Save to File”, then save the file under a name of your choice.
  4. Open Microsoft Excel and go to “File”.
  5. Select “Open” and click on the .txt file you just created (you will likely need to search “All files”).
  6. In pop-up box, select “Next.”  Check the ‘semi-colon’ and ‘tab’ delimiter boxes, select “Next” and then select “Finish”.
  7. Highlight the table, select “Format as Table”, chose a table option (can be changed later) and select “OK”.