LibGuides: Music Research Guide: Audio and Video

Streaming Audio and Video

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] offers streaming access to more than 100,000 CDs and nearly two million tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library focuses primarily on classical music, but jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.

*** Please use the LOG OUT button when you're done so others can use the service.***
Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users and sessions will time out after five minutes of inactivity.
Resources include:
- Liner notes for many recordings
- Audio book transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera with listening examples
- Libretti and synopses of over 700 operas
- A pronunciation guide for composer and artist names
- A glossary
- An overview of important musical terms
- Work analyses
- Work details with instrumentation, publishers, duration, other information and available recordings
- Classical music podcasts
Please see the Naxos FAQ if you have any questions: https://umsl-nml3-naxosmusiclibrary-com.ezproxy.umsl.edu/faqs
IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library
The IMSLP/Petrucci Music Library is primarily a collection of public domain music scores which also contains thousands of recordings ( mostly from the Western classical canon). Note: Some files may be copyright protected.
Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports a range of subject areas, from anthropology to zoology. Accounts enable users to save clips and create interactions (primarily for instructors).

AVON includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. It contains thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as frequently used films for classroom instruction, newly released films and previously unavailable archival material oriented toward academic institutions.
Help with AVON Videos (finding, sharing, playing videos, etc.)
https://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
https://alexanderstreet.com/products/academic-video-online
Freesound Project
Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, etc. released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.
Internet Archive: Audio Archive
The Internet Archive's Audio Archive includes audio books and poetry, a live music archive, performances of twentieth century and contemporary music (including folk and jazz music and arts, recordings of historic 78 RPM records and cylinders, news and public affairs, independent radio news features, radio programs, podcasts, and more.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to the public.

British Library Sounds: World and Traditional Music
(Mostly) Freely available music recordings searchable by region, country, and language.
MUSAIC
MUSAIC—a collaborative digital initiative between the New World Symphony, Cleveland Institute of Music, Curtis Institute of Music, Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester), Guildhall School of Music and Drama (London), Manhattan School of Music, Royal Danish Academy of Music, San Francisco Conservatory of Music, University of Missouri-Kansas City, and University of Southern California—is an online community of classical musicians and continuously updated video library curated by America’s Orchestral Academy.
The National Jukebox
A project from the Library of Congress to make historical sound recordings available to the public.