Chemistry & Biochemistry

Contains data for 21,000 compounds. Features include a Name/Synonym Directory, a section on nomenclature, structural diagrams, and spectral cross-correlation tables.

This monumental, ongoing compilation — the most important reference work in organic chemistry — provides a comprehensive summary of published data on organic compounds. The main work (Hauptwerk) covers the literature through 1909, and the supplements (Ergaenzungswerk) cover additional ten or twenty year periods. All compounds are classified according to structure. Refer to a guide to the literature for detailed explanation.

An ongoing compilation of formulations of mixtures and blends of chemicals for household or industrial use, such as cosmetics, detergents, polish, etc. This information is difficult to locate elsewhere. Use Interlibrary Loan to request sections or to recall entire volumes.

A guide to laboratory procedure for the chemist. Clearly written and well-illustrated.

One of a series of medium-sized works designed to fill the gap between the smaller texts and the existing treatises.

A handbook to the synthesis, reactions and structure of organometallic compounds. Continued by Comprehensive Supramolecular Chemistry. Includes numerous references to the literature and is well indexed.

A revision of Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry, focusing on organometallic chemistry reported since 1982. Outlines the field of multi-molecular structures held together by noncovalent forces which retain a definable integrity.

The standard ready-reference source for chemical and physical data. Major sections are: mathematical tables, elements and inorganic compounds, organic compounds, and general physical constants. Use the index for easier access to topics.

Specifically designed to meet the special needs of the organic chemist.

Counterpart to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds described below.

Provides data on 150,000 of the most common organic compounds, including structural formula, properties, derivatives, and bibliographic references. Like a miniature Beilstein: easier to use but covers a fraction of the number of compounds.

The counterpart to Beilstein for inorganic compounds. Arrangement is based on the periodic table, but it is best to consult a guide to chemical literature for full explanation.

Designed to provide quick access to chemical and physical data used in laboratory work and manufacturing. Arranged by broad subject area with a detailed subject index. Earlier editions are available in the general stacks for check-out (UMSL TJ LEVEL 5 QD65 .L36)

Comprehensive, interdisciplinary encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Provides concise descriptions of the preparation and general properties of compounds, correlating their generic and chemical names with structures, trademarks and company affiliations. Irregular.