LibGuides: Public Library Databases in St. Louis: St. Charles City-County Library

About St. Charles City-County Library

The majority of the public libraries in the St. Louis area have a reciprocal library card agreement. Anyone from any of the participating library systems can get a library card from the other library systems.

Selected St. Charles City-County Library databases are listed below as:

SCCCL Databases NOT owned by UMSL
SCCCL Databases ALSO owned by UMSL

SCCCL Databases NOT Owned by UMSL

These databases can usually be accessed at any branch of the library system. Remote access is often available for those who hold a valid library card from the St. Charles City-County library system.

ABI/Inform Complete Articles in business, finance, management, accounting, advertising, banking, insurance, marketing, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications.
Ancestry Library Edition (In Library Use Only) Provides access to a large number of databases of interest to genealogists and historians.
Chicago Tribune Complete full-text of the last 2 months of the Chicago Tribune newspaper.
Chilton Library Auto Repair Manuals Chilton Library provides access to online automobile repair manuals and diagrams, maintenance information, labor estimates and bulletin/recall details for thousands of domestic and imported cars and trucks from 1940 to the current model.
D&B Hoovers D&B Hoovers is an American business research company that provides information on companies and industries.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos Spanish language version of World Book's Student Discovery Encyclopedia.
Fold3 Provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Issues Collection This collection of nearly 40 largely full-text journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. Coverage begins in 1980.
General OneFile [Gale] General OneFile is Gale's largest general-interest database, serving as the public library's ultimate periodical resource, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text with no embargo), many of which are recommended by Bowker's Magazines for Libraries. We've included the reference, newspaper, and audio content that complements the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
Kansas City Star Complete full-text 1991 to current via Newsbank.
NewspaperARCHIVE Tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages dating back as far as the 1700's.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Information from many sources on popular research topics for students.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Center This full-text database provides a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques — including contemporary content from the finest publishers.
Small Business Resource Center [GALE] with sample business plans Covers starting and operating a business, includes business journals and a wide selection of sample business plans.
Teacher Reference Center [EBSCO] A complimentary research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals.
Value Line Value Line provides a vast array of financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. The database offers various estimates, projections and historical data designed to help investors discover opportunities as they develop their investment strategies.

SCCCL Databases ALSO Owned by UMSL

These are databases that are also provided at UMSL to current faculty, staff, and students. Non-UMSL affiliates wishing to use these databases can go to any branch of the St. Charles City-County library system. Remote access is often available for those who hold a valid library card from the St. Charles City-County library system.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. UMSL owns volumes 1 (1978) - 362 (2011).
ERIC [EBSCO] The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, provide access over one million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. In addition to ERIC's indexing of educational journal content, ERIC's Document coverage includes conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch [ProQuest] Searchable full text and full image articles from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003. (The 1923 to 2003 is currently being digitized. Years will be posted as they become available.)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) [EBSCOhost] Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) provides coverage of the following subjects: librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing.
Literature Criticism Online Literature Criticism Online is an extensive compilation of scholarly and popular commentary drawn from an extensive collection of broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. UMSL has access to the following sections: Contemporary Literary Criticism - [Volume 1 (1973) - present], Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism [Volume 1 (1981) - 259 (2012)] , andTwentieth-Century Literary Criticism - [Volume 1 (1978) - present].
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] Public library general database with more than 1,600 full-text magazines and journals. Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines,reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Medline [EBSCO] Created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Mergent Archives Mergent Archives is an online database providing you with access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.
Mergent Intellect Features a collection of worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Online Enables users to find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes.
Morningstar Investment Research Center Morningstar offers information on mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, stocks from the NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq & OTC exchanges. It has the ability to screen funds and stocks by various criteria and analyze markets & portfolios. Morningstar also provides a wide array of fund & stock analyst reports, videos, and other information.