LibGuides: Public Library Databases in St. Louis: St. Louis County Library

About St. Louis County Library

The majority of the public libraries in the St. Louis area have a reciprocal library card agreement. Anyone from any of the participating library systems can get a library card from the other library systems.

Selected St. Louis County Library resources are listed below as:

SLCL Databases NOT owned by UMSL
SLCL Databases ALSO owned by UMSL

SLCL Databases NOT Owned by UMSL

These databases can usually be accessed at any branch of the library system. Remote access is often available for those who hold a valid library card from the St. Louis County library system.

Academic OneFile [Gale] A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Focus on content in major indices like BIOSIS, CINAHL, ERIC, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO.
Academic Search Elite (subset of UMSL owned Academic Search Complete) This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. Approximately 25% of the journals of UMSL's Academic Search Complete.
Access World News Provides searchable full text and indexing of many U.S. and international newspapers, including print and online-only resources. Provides comprehensive news and information on differing perspectives for a variety of topics, including economics, business, political science, environmental issues, health and welfare topics, social problems, consumer affairs, education, international affairs and defense, sports and much more.
African-American History Online [Facts on File] Covers the people and events in African American history from the 1400s to the present.
African-American Newspapers: 19th Century Pt's 1, 2 & 3 Primary source material providing insight into the cultural life and history during the first half of the 1800s through articles written by African-Americans for African-Americans. Includes biographies of people often overlooked in standard references.
American Civil War Research Database [Alexander Street] Resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War, with indexed, searchable information on 4.3 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs.
American Indian History Online [Facts On File] Covers more than 15,000 years of American Indian history and culture. More than 600 Native American groups represented.
American National Biography Provides biographical information on North American men and women of renown. Only profiles persons who are dead.
Ancestry Library Edition (In Library Use Only) Provides access to a large number of databases of interest to genealogists and historians.
Associations Unlimited Directory of regional, national and international organizations. Includes IRS data on U.S. nonprofit organizations.
Auto Repair Source Formerly called AutoMate, this database provides service and repair information including step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts/labor estimates and service bulletins/recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles from 1974 to the current model.
Chilton Library Auto Repair Manuals Chilton Library provides access to online automobile repair manuals and diagrams, maintenance information, labor estimates and bulletin/recall details for thousands of domestic and imported cars and trucks from 1940 to the current model.
D&B Key Business Ratios Provides 14 key business ratios covering solvency, efficiency, and profitability over a three-year period.
eBooks on EBSCOhost Search the full text of over 4200 fiction and nonfiction ebook titles.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] Full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Facts On File Access to all the Library’s current Facts on File databases including Today’s Science, World News Digest, and Issues & Controversies.
Fold3 Provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Indexes and abstracts library and information science periodicals, monographs, selected state library journals, conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets. Some full text available.
North Side Journal 2004-2008 Searchable full text coverage of local news and community-submitted content from North County, including births, engagements, and community events. Falls under the Suburban Journals of Greater Saint Louis. Includes access from 2004 to 2008.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context [Gale] Information from many sources on popular research topics for students.
Photofact Online [Sams] repair manuals and schematics for electronics Offers repair manuals and schematics for electronics.
ProQuest Global Newsstream Full text access to the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times , St. Louis Post – Dispatch, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today and so many more newspapers in the United States and other countries.
ProQuest Newsstand Full text access to the Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times , St. Louis Post – Dispatch, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today and so many more newspapers in the United States and other countries.
Qikan Chinese language journals Collection of Chinese language journals appealing to adults, teens, and children. The journals cover a variety of topics, including current events, literature, women's issues, and education. Special software must be installed on your computer to view written Chinese characters.
ReferenceUSA (U.S. Directory of Businesses and People) Directory containing millions of listings for businesses and residents across the U.S.
Small Business Resource Center [Gale] with sample business plans Covers starting and operating a business, includes business journals and a wide selection of sample business plans.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center [EBSCO] Repair and maintenance information for small engines such as motorcycles, boats, and mowers.
South County Journal Searchable full text coverage of local news and community-submitted content from South County, including births, engagements, and community events. Falls under the Suburban Journals of Greater Saint Louis. Includes access from 2004 to present.
Southwest County Journal Searchable full text database of local news and community-submitted content from South and West St. Louis County, including births, engagements, and community events. Falls under the Suburban Journals of Greater Saint Louis. Includes access from October 2004 to January 2009.
Student Resources in Context [Gale] A collection of databases designed to help students with a variety of school assignments. Includes its own Multimedia Gallery of still images, film clips, and sound bites.
Value Line Value Line provides a vast array of financial measures for over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. The database offers various estimates, projections and historical data designed to help investors discover opportunities as they develop their investment strategies.

SLCL Databases ALSO Owned by UMSL

These are databases that are also provided at UMSL to current faculty, staff, and students. Non-UMSL affiliates wishing to use these databases can go to any branch of the St. Louis County library system. Remote access is often available for those who hold a valid library card from the St. Louis County library system.

Academic Search Elite (subset of UMSL owned Academic Search Complete) This scholarly collection provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc. Approximately 25% of the journals of UMSL's Academic Search Complete.
American State Papers (Library of Congress) A digitized version of the 38-volume print edition of legislative and executive documents issued by Congress, 1789 – 1838.
Explora - Educators Edition [EBSCO] Find more than 2100 full text scholarly journals and over 1700 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Collection provides focus on education by providing full text for over 500 high-quality educational journals. Provides access to lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and link to sites valuable for teachers.
Historical New York Times [ProQuest] Full coverage of the New York Times from its inception in September 18, 1851 as the New York Daily Times. Current up to three years behind the current year of publication. This database along with the New York Times available through ProQuest Newsstand provides coverage of the entire run of the New York Times newspaper up to the present!
Historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch [ProQuest] Searchable full text and full image articles from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003. (The 1923 to 2003 is currently being digitized. Years will be posted as they become available.)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) [EBSCOhost] Covers magazine articles, books entries, reports, and proceedings addressing subjects in library and information science.
Literature Criticism Online Full text access to the substantial literary series Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
MasterFILE Premier [EBSCO] Public library general database with more than 1,600 full-text magazines and journals. Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines,reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
Mergent Archives Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries.
Mergent Intellect Mergent Intellect features a deep collection of worldwide business information including private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Mergent Online An Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research.
Morningstar Investment Research Center Search over 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs to determine where to invest your money.
Oxford Reference Online Full text access to dictionaries covering broad range of subjects including Literature, the Arts, the Classics, Folklore and Mythology, and Languages. Also, English language resources and bilingual dictionaries.
WorldCat [FirstSearch] Searches the library catalog holdings for libraries located in your area and around the World. Contains catalog records for books, web resources, maps, musical scores, video tapes and journals.