ABI/INFORM Collection includes important full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, case studies, and market & industry reports.
Use Advanced Search to query by Company Name, Codes (NAICS, etc.), Location, or Person.
Business (including Accounting, Finance, Marketing and more)
Competitive landscape and product information
Case Studies: Enter search terms (examples: "restaurant" or "advertising") in the Advanced Search screen. Further down, under "Document type," choose "Case Study."
The Business Searching Interface provides an alternative search tool for company and industry research derived from the Business Source Premier database. Included are Company Profiles, Country Reports, Industry Profiles, and Market Research Reports.
Business Source Premier provides full text for over 2,300 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. To find case studies, enter search terms (examples: "restaurant" or "advertising") in the usual boxes, then under "Document type," choose "Case Study."
CapitalIQ (formerly Standard & Poor's) NetAdvantage includes data and analysis of industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, indexes, and current news. NetAdvantage contains the following S&P publications: Bond Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide, Stock Guide, Industry Surveys, and Stock Reports.
Features a collection of worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Intellect includes the following types of data:
North American Database
Over 20 million US and 1.5 million Canadian private companies
Over 6000 US public companies
Complete family tree details
Over 70 million global private companies
Global corporate family tree details
Key Business Ratios (also see the Mergent Archive database for older editions)
Industry Database with access to over 900 industry segments via First Research
Job Search Solution Database
Over 20 million employers in the US and 400,000 employers in Canada
Veterans Job Search Database
Residential / Local Business Database with over 200 million residents and 30 million businesses
Executive Database with over 90 million executives details including contact and biographies
Enables users to find a company by company name, ticker symbol, Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, or MIC codes. Mergent Online also offers helpful Industry Analysis reports (Industry Analysis --> Search by Industry).
UMSL's subscription to Mergent Online includes the following products:
US Active and Inactive Data
International Active and Inactive Data
Expanded Long Term Debt
US and International Earnings Estimates
Executive Biographies Basic and Plus
Institutional and Insider Holdings
D&B Private Company Data
As Reported All Years, Standardized All Years, Transparency All Years
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The Department of Labor has a listing of SIC codes.