The Ad*Access Project presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. & Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955 and covers five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Access to over 8,000 historic television commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
This collection supports interdisciplinary research, not only in marketing and advertising history, but also in visual studies, communication, women's studies, public health, cultural anthropology, nutrition, technology, and more.
Features a collection of worldwide business information that enables users to access private (via D&B®) and public U.S and international business data, key business ratios, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, industry profiles, and much more.
Mergent Intellect includes the following types of data:
North American Database
Over 20 million US and 1.5 million Canadian private companies
Over 6000 US public companies
Complete family tree details
Over 70 million global private companies
Global corporate family tree details
Key Business Ratios (also see the Mergent Archive database for older editions)
Industry Database with access to over 900 industry segments via First Research
Job Search Solution Database
Over 20 million employers in the US and 400,000 employers in Canada
Veterans Job Search Database
Residential / Local Business Database with over 200 million residents and 30 million businesses
Executive Database with over 90 million executives details including contact and biographies
Social Explorer is a comprehensive data research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Social Explorer provides easy access to current and historical demographic data:
The entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release; it is updated continuously with new data from the decennial census and American Community Survey as it is released from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Includes over 40 billion data elements, 200,000 variables and more than 18,000 interactive maps from 1790 to 2010. Download data for processing offline using any statistical package; the reports automatically calculate aggregates, percentages, and medians. Export, save, and print maps and reports.
InfoGroup data on religious congregations for the United States for 2009, including maps for counties, and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations (to be updated yearly).
The Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000. (To be updated in 2012.)
Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
Creates thematic and interactive maps that make it easy to visually explore all historical and modern US census data across the centuries and down to street level detail where available. Maps can be seamlessly converted into reports.
Creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place (where the data exist).
The Information Technology department currently pays for UMSL's subscription to Social Explorer
Market Share Reporter presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.