Library Resources for International Students

The most authoritative and up-to-date resource on the Indonesian language today, A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary is an essential reference for students, tourists, business people, and scholars of Indonesian. This major new dictionary is the most modern and inclusive Indonesian-English dictionary available. The product of more than twenty years of research and documentation of the Indonesian language and culture, A Comprehensive Indonesian-English Dictionary is designed to be as user-friendly as possible.

This new edition of the Oxford Concise English-Chinese Chinese-English Dictionary has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in English and Chinese. An ideal tool for study, the dictionary now provides authoritative coverage of over 26,000 words and phrases from every major field of reference, including science and technology, in addition to core general vocabulary. Simplified and orthodox Chinese characters are used throughout the dictionary, and thousands of examples illustrate and expand on how and when a word can be used. Also including a guide to the most commonly used radicals and an additional key to the pronunciation of Chinese, this dictionary is an indispensable reference tool.

The Concise New Partridge presents, for the first time, all the slang terms from The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English in a single volume. With over 60,000 entries from around the English-speaking world, the Concise gives you the language of beats, hipsters, Teddy Boys, mods and rockers, hippies, pimps, druggies, whores, punks, skinheads, ravers, surfers, Valley girls, dudes, pill-popping truck drivers, hackers, rappers and more. The Concise New Partridge is a spectacular resource infused with humour and learning; it's rude, it's delightful and it's a prize for anyone with a love of language.

This new edition incorporates the recent German spelling reforms. Changes in spelling are signalled at entry level. With over over 150,00 words and phrases, over 250,000 translations, this dictionary provides unrivalled coverage of general, scientific, and technical and literary vocabulary,based on the British National Corpus, Oxford's unparalleled collection of written and spoken language.

The Dictionary of Caribbean English Usage is the first attempt for over four hundred years to provide an authentic record of current English from the Caribbean archipelago, Guyana and Belize. Drawing its data from a broad range of enquiry through teacher workshops in twenty-two territories in eighteen states, from speech recordings and over one thousand written sources of Caribbean literature, reference works, magazines, pamphlets and newspapers, the Dictionary surveys a range of over twenty thousand words and phrases and with hundreds of illustrative citations.

This new edition of the Larousse Advanced dictionary is up-to-date, rich in content, and user-friendly, a valuable learning tool for all those who wish to broaden their knowledge of the French language. The addition of themed pages of illustrations places it firmly in the Larousse tradition of encyclopedic dictionaries.

This practical, easy-to-use Navajo dictionary is intended primarily for Navajo children learning to read and write the language in bilingual classrooms. It presents over 1,500 noun and 330 verb entries, all selected because they are words used in and around the school. But the audience for this book has always been larger than just youngsters: it has proven useful for anyone wanting to learn Navajo--adults and children alike. For each of the thirty-six letters in the Navajo alphabet, this dictionary provides first a listing of nouns followed by verbs. For most of the nouns and all of the verbs, an illustration is also included to aid in learning by providing a visual reference. While the dictionary is organized using the Navajo alphabet, the index gives non-native speakers a complete list of all the English translations from Navajo.

Random House Japanese-English English Japanese dictionary is designed for non-native learners of Japanese and for Japanese-speaking learners of English. It is comprehensive and up-to-date, reflecting modern usage.

Appropriate for learners of Spanish and English,Random House Latin-American Spanish Dictionaryincludes thorough coverage of basic vocabulary, plus more extensive inclusion of terms used in the Western Hemisphere than other Spanish-English dictionaries of this size.