Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

General Information

Contact and General Information about the Libraries (Staff, History, Mission, Hours, Employment, etc.)

Thomas Jefferson Library, Saint Louis Mercantile Library, and the University Archives

Christopher R. Dames
Dean of Libraries
M.S., Physics, University of Missouri — St. Louis
M.L.S., Kent State University
cdames@umsl.edu
Christopher Dames Photo
Jaleh Fazelian
Associate Dean of Libraries, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.A., Historical Studies, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
M.L.S., Indiana University
jfazelian@umsl.edu
Jaleh Fazelian Photo
John N. Hoover
Director, St. Louis Mercantile Library
Associate Director of Libraries for Special Collections, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.A., History, Southern Illinois University — Edwardsville
M.A.L.S., University of Missouri — Columbia
jhoover@umsl.edu
John Hoover Photo
Charles Brown
University Archivist, Thomas Jefferson Library
Head of Reference Services, St. Louis Mercantile Library
cbrown@umsl.edu
Charles Brown Photo
Christopher Daniel
Monograph Acquisitions Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.A.L.S., University of Missouri — Columbia
cdaniel@umsl.edu
Christopher Daniel Photo
Julie Dunn-Morton
Coordinator, Exhibits and Collections, Thomas Jefferson Library
Curator, Fine Arts Collection, St. Louis Mercantile Library
M.A., Art History, University of Delaware
Ph.D., University of Delaware
dunnmortonj@umsl.edu
Julie Dunn-Morton Photo
Nick Fry
John W. Barriger III National Railroad Library Curator, St. Louis Mercantile Library
M.A. — Historical Studies, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
M.S.L.I.S., Drexel University
fryn@umsl.edu
Nick Fry Photo
Sara Hodge
Herman T. Pott National Inland Waterways Library Curator, St. Louis Mercantile Library
M.A. — Museum Studies, University of San Francisco
shodge@umsl.edu
Sara Hodge Photo
Helena Marvin
Reference Librarian, Institutional Repository Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.A., History, City College of New York
M.L.I.S., Queens College of the City University of New York
marvinh@umsl.edu
Helena Marvin Photo
Raleigh Muns
Reference Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.L.S., University of California — Los Angeles
muns@umsl.edu
Raleigh Muns Photo
Timothy Nelson
Collection Development & Acquisitions Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.Div., Chicago Theological Seminary
M.A., I.S.L.T, University of Missouri — Columbia
nelsontp@umsl.edu
Timothy Nelson Photo
Christopher Niemeyer
Reference Librarian, Coordinator of Instruction, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.L.I.S., University of Texas at Austin
niemeyer@umsl.edu
Christopher Niemeyer Photo
David Owens
Head, Technical Services, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.A.L.S., University of Missouri — Columbia
dowens@umsl.edu
David Owens Photo
Alyssa Persson
Aubash Collection Fellowship Librarian, St. Louis Mercantile Library
M.L.I.S. — Simmons University
ampbgy@umsl.edu
Alyssa Persson
Judy Schmitt
Reference Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.L.I.S., University of Missouri — Columbia
j.schmitt@umsl.edu
Judy Schmitt Photo
Lindsay Schmitz
Head of Public Services; Reference & Government Documents Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.A., History, Southern Illinois University — Edwardsville
M.S., Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
schmitzl@umsl.edu
Lindsay Schmitz Photo
Elizabeth Wheeles
Reference Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.S. Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
eawheeles@umsl.edu
Elizabeth Wheeles
Michelle Zigler
Reference Librarian, Thomas Jefferson Library
M.L.I.S., University of Missouri — Columbia
mzigler@umsl.edu
Michelle Zigler

State Historical Society of Missouri - St. Louis Research Center

For more information about the staff and services at the Center: https://shsmo.org/visit/saint-louis
A.J. Medlock
Senior Archivist, State Historical Society of Missouri — St. Louis
A.J. Medlock Photo
Danielle Griego
Educational Outreach - Strategic Communications, Bicentennial, State Historical Society of Missouri
Danielle Griego Photo
Zack Palitzsch
Archivist, State Historical Society of Missouri — St. Louis
Zack Palitzsch Photo
Erin Purdy
Archivist, State Historical Society of Missouri — St. Louis
Erin Purdy Photo